Trending Games | World of Warcraft | Overwatch | The Division 2 | Final Fantasy XIV

    Facebook Twitter YouTube YouTube.Gaming Discord
Quick Game Jump
Members:3,840,036 Users Online:0
Blizzard Entertainment | Official Site
MMORPG | Setting:Fantasy | Status:Final  (rel 11/23/04)  | Pub:Blizzard Entertainment
PVP:Yes | Distribution:Download,Retail | Retail Price:$19.99 | Pay Type:Hybrid | Monthly Fee:$14.99
System Req: PC Mac | ESRB:TOut of date info? Let us know!

PvP Ratings & Rewards Are Getting a Massive Overhaul in Battle for Azeroth

Posted by Suzie Ford on Jun 21, 2018  | Comments

PvP Ratings & Rewards Are Getting a Massive Overhaul in Battle for Azeroth -

PvP ratings are getting a big update in World of Warcraft's next expansion, Battle for Azeroth. The goal is, according to a new developer blog, to "increase clarity and offer a more structured progression that recognizes players' accomplishments in real time as they climb through the ranks. As players reach (specific) rating thresholds, they will enter formal brackets".

  • Combatant: 1400–1599
  • Challenger: 1600–1799
  • Rival: 1800–2099
  • Duelist: 2100–2399
  • Gladiator: 2400+

Each bracket will provide its own set of rewards that are clearly shown in the game interface so players understand the goals for which they are shooting.

In addition, Blizzard is taking a proactive stance for participation in PvP in Battle for Azeroth. Each week, players will fill a bar with Conquest points that, when filled, will both measure a player's participation in PvP, but also provide a specific piece of raid-quality gear each week that can add up to a full set over the course of any given season. 

With these updates, we want to make sure we’re providing PvP rewards that are commensurate with someone’s level of play. To this end, we’re adding an end-of-the week reward along the lines of the weekly Grand Challenger’s Bounty chests you can earn for doing Mythic Keystone dungeons. These weekly rewards can be collected from a chest in the Dueler’s Guild PvP hub in either Zuldazar (Horde) or Boralus (Alliance).

Players will also be able to earn the Vicious PvP mounts in new ways. Previously, players needed either 100 3v3 arena wins or 40 rated battleground wins. In BfA, however, players who reach rated play in any bracket including 2v2 for the first time will count towards earning the Vicious mount. And most excitingly, milestones reached on characters account wide will count towards the achievement of the mount.

Once a player reaches Gladiator ranking, they will "be able to see where [they] rank in [their] region right within the interface". 

Want to know more? Head to the World of Warcraft community site.

Suzie Ford / Suzie is the Associate Editor and News Manager at Follow her on Twitter @MMORPGMom
Avg. User Rating: 7.8
(9402 Votes)