Trending Games | World of Warcraft | Overwatch | Valnir Rok | Runescape

    Facebook Twitter YouTube YouTube.Gaming Discord
Quick Game Jump
Members:3,824,280 Users Online:0
Spellborn International
MMORPG | Setting:Fantasy | Status:Cancelled  (est.rel 04/23/09)  | Pub:Frogster Interactive / Mindscape / Acclaim
PVP:Yes | Distribution:Download | Retail Price:Free | Pay Type:Free | Monthly Fee:Free
System Req: PC | Out of date info? Let us know!

Game Design Dev Journal

Posted by Keith Cross on Sep 03, 2007  | Comments

Game Design Dev Journal -

The Chronicles of Spellborn official site has been updated with their latest dev journal from the design department. This time around the focus is on the history of the high houses.

Hi and welcome to another journal on game content and design. Previous journals have been about the Athenaeum and the different factions currently active within The Chronicles of Spellborn and this week we'd like to cover something different.

This time we'd like to tell you a bit about the five different High Houses that are currently making up the Enclave of the Five Sacrifices.

History of the Eight

I'd like to start off with a little bit of history where the context of the Houses is explained. In the years after the Awakening, some 600 years ago, there were eight High Houses, Pale, Onyx, Void, Maul, Torque, Rune, Silver and Shroud, that vied for power and control over the combined might of the Human and Daevi survivors. The indifferences from before the Great Collapse, the destruction of the Ancestral World, had not diminished in the slightest and the struggle for dominance continued. But as time progressed it became clear that some of the Houses had similar goals and as such started to form allegiances. Pale, Onyx, and Void became what history refers to as the Traitor Houses whilst Shroud, Maul, Torque and Silver opposed their ideas with such vehemence that war was inevitable.

Read more here.