Trending Games | World of Warcraft | Overwatch | Breach | Anthem

    Facebook Twitter YouTube YouTube.Gaming Discord
Quick Game Jump
Members:3,830,584 Users Online:0
BioWare | Official Site
MMORPG | Setting:Sci-Fi | Status:Final  (rel 12/20/11)  | Pub:LucasArts
PVP:Yes | Distribution:Retail | Retail Price:n/a | Pay Type:Hybrid | Monthly Fee:n/a
System Req: PC | Out of date info? Let us know!

Farewell to Skill Trees, Hello to Disciplines

Posted by Suzie Ford on Oct 07, 2014  | Comments

Farewell to Skill Trees, Hello to Disciplines -

The Star Wars: The Old Republic site has a new developer blog that lays out the new Discipline system. According to the blog, Discipline will offer players a wider range of game play options and completely gets rid of skill trees as the mainstay of character progression.

From a player’s perspective, interacting with the Discipline system couldn’t be easier. Our goal was to design an elegant system that brings forward class identity without sacrificing the challenge of mastering your role in the process. We have combined the interface and process of taking an Advanced Class and discipline all into a series of linked panels that you access in much the same way you previously accessed the skill tree.  Once you are level 10, you can simply open up that interface and are presented with the options for each Advanced Class available to you. After selecting an Advanced Class, the next panel of the interface describes each of the three disciplines available and allows you to select one. You can preview each of them to see what they are all about, and once you see one you like, you simply select and commit it! The chosen discipline path is automatically set to your current level, so if you want to abandon and switch disciplines (similar to resetting skill points on the trees), you can take on the challenge of a new role with ease. To make sure newer characters could immediately feel the identity of their chosen discipline at level 10, we’ve made sure that the very first things you get tend to generate a big impact to the type of character you want to be:  healers get a nice heal, tanks get good defense/threat, and DPSers get a nice attack ability for their rotation. Tanks no longer have to grind 30 levels before they really start getting “Tanky” abilities; they can start being tanks right away.

Read more on the Star Wars: The Old Republic site.

Suzie Ford / Suzie is the Associate Editor and News Manager at Follow her on Twitter @MMORPGMom
Avg. User Rating: 7.5
(856 Votes)