Trending Games | World of Warcraft | Overwatch | Valnir Rok | Ashes of Creation

    Facebook Twitter YouTube YouTube.Gaming Discord
Quick Game Jump
Members:3,824,408 Users Online:0
Portalus Games | Official Site
MMORPG | Setting:Historical | Status:Final  (rel 01/22/08)  | Pub:Portalus Games
PVP:Yes | Distribution:Download | Retail Price:Free | Pay Type:Hybrid | Monthly Fee:Free
System Req: PC | ESRB:TOut of date info? Let us know!

Swashbuckler Shenanigans

Posted by Keith Cross on Jul 04, 2007  | Comments

Swashbuckler Shenanigans  -

The Pirates of the Burning Sea official site has been updated with part 2 of their look at the swashbuckling system and detailed information on the types of skills players will be able to purchase.

Welcome back for part two of our in-depth look at our swashbuckling system. Today we're going to look at the different the Fighting Schools and the skills they contain.

Swashbuckling combat will be, at release, a sword fighting system. We fully intend to expand this system to include other types of armed and unarmed combat, but that will have to wait for the future. There are three schools of sword fighting: Dirty Fighting, Fencing, and Florentine. Each school will make use of a single type of sword: Cutlass for Dirty Fighting, Rapier for Fencing, and Small Sword and Dagger for Florentine.

The decision to link sword type to fighting school was a difficult one. On the one hand we want to allow as much player flexibility as possible. On the other hand we want swashbuckling to look really engaging, and the different fighting schools to be visually distinctive. Ultimately we decided to slightly limit player item selection in order to create a system that looked right. A swordsman holds a rapier very differently from how he holds a cutlass, and use of the weapon is entirely different. So if we want a particular attack to be usable with any weapon, we have to do three animations for it. Instead we decided to limit our animations to a single fighting school for each animation, but include a much wider range of animations overall.

Mechanically the primary difference between the Fighting Schools is their skill choices. The skills in each school are broken down into 9 skill chains. Each skill chain is composed of 5 related skills that must be purchased in order. To acquire the 5th skill in a chain you must first purchase skills 1 through 4; however, you can spend your skill points in different chains freely. The result is that you get a great deal of control over how your character develops as he levels up. If you really want one of the 5th tier skills early on you can head straight for it, or you can spend your points more broadly, making your character more well-rounded early on.

Read the full article here.

Avg. User Rating: 7.5
(364 Votes)