Trending Games | World of Warcraft | Overwatch | Echo of Soul | Fallout 76

    Facebook Twitter YouTube Twitch.tv YouTube.Gaming Discord
Register
Quick Game Jump
Members:3,823,901 Users Online:0
Games:974 
Grinding Gear Games | Official Site
Action MMO | Setting:Fantasy | Status:Final  (rel 01/23/13)  | Pub:Grinding Gear Games
PVP:Yes | Distribution:Download | Retail Price:n/a | Pay Type:Free | Monthly Fee:n/a
System Req: PC | Out of date info? Let us know!

Path of Exile Articles

Latest

  • Betrayal is the Next Path of Exile League

    When Path of Exile launches the Betrayal league in December, it will be the game's biggest one to date. Players will set off on an adventure that will see them tracking down members of the Immortal Syndicate and targeting them for assassination. But it's more than a simple "find and kill" adventure, but one that features twists and turns, alliances and broken friendships all on the path to finding the Syndicate's leader.

    Posted on 11/13/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • Recent
  • Editorials
  • Previews
  • Interviews
  • Media
  • General Articles
  • Announcements
  • Awards
  • Columns
  • Path of Exile: The Exiled Tribune - Catching Up with GGG

    It's been awhile since we last checked in on the Path of Exile team to see what they've been up to recently and we're not disappointed. Content update 3.5.0 is on its way with lots of info sure to be coming along soon. And what about those FFA boss fights? See what else is new!

    Posted on 10/25/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • Path of Exile Interview - Delving Into Delve

    With the recent launch of the latest Path of Exile expansion, Delve, players are hard at work seeing how far into the mines they can run. Meanwhile, devs are working equally hard to make improvements in the popular new content. We took an opportunity to catch up with the team to find out how launch went, what's in the works and what's next for Path of Exile.

    Posted on 09/13/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • Delve Challenges Players to Journey Beneath the Surface

    Grinding Gear is one of the hardest working bunch of developers that continually proves that quality content can be pushed out at a blistering pace. Path of Exile: Incursion launched earlier this summer, but not resting on their laurels, the team is expanding Path of Exile yet again with Delve, the game's first infinite dungeon that will challenge even the hardiest of players.

    Posted on 08/09/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • Catching Up with GGG - Community Hijinks, Microtransaction Madness & More

    Path of Exile developers are some of the busiest people we know, but they're never too busy for their community. We had the chance to talk with Community Director Bex about the amazing PoE players and fans. We also learned more about how microtransactions brought out from concept to finished product and even a little bit about how the community manages to surprise the team nearly every day. Read on!

    Posted on 07/23/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • Inspecting Incursion

    A new league has started in Path of Exile, and Red Thomas created a new character to check it out. He touches on some of the new features unique to the league and offers some tips for players who want to give it a shot.

    Posted on 06/21/2018 by Red Thomas
  • GGG Tapping Into Its Community

    It's once again time for our Path of Exile: The Exiled Tribune column that shines the spotlight on all-things PoE over recent days. With the Incursion League in full swing, GGG has turned its eye to the vibrant community with announcements of contests and calls for submissions in a newly announced art contest and for the Build of the Week video series.

    Posted on 06/19/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • Chris Wilson on the Tencent Investment & the Future of Grinding Gear

    Today's news that Tencent had completed the purchase of controlling shares in Path of Exile's Grinding Gear Games came straight out of left field. We managed to fire off a few questions to GGG's Chris Wilson to learn more about the investment and what it means for the future of Path of Exile and Grinding Gear.

    Posted on 05/21/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • Incursion League Will Send You Back in Time Starting June 1st

    The good folks at Grinding Gear are getting ready to unleash a brand-new Challenge league to its players when Incursion launches on June 1st. It’s going to bring some fascinating new content to players as well the chance to travel back in time over a thousand years. The goal for Incursion is, according to Chris Wilson, to blur the line between league and expansion and to give players new items, new areas, new monsters, new characters.

    Posted on 05/10/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • It's Never a Quiet Week for Exiles!

    The ramp up to the next big content drop is underway and Grinding Gear will be pulling out all the stops to provide Path of Exile players with all the information they need when it hits. Lots of information should be coming in the next week or two, but that doesn't mean that there hasn't been a ton of great stuff to see and learn over the course of the past week. Read on, Exiles, to see what's new in PoE!

    Posted on 04/16/2018 by Suzie Ford

Editorials

  • Walking the Path of Exile

    Path of Exile, the long-awaiting Online Action RPG from Grinding Gears went into Open Beta last week. Now, after some time spent in the Open Beta, our Adam Tingle is reporting on his first impressions.

    Posted on 01/29/2013 by Adam Tingle

Previews

  • Delve Challenges Players to Journey Beneath the Surface

    Grinding Gear is one of the hardest working bunch of developers that continually proves that quality content can be pushed out at a blistering pace. Path of Exile: Incursion launched earlier this summer, but not resting on their laurels, the team is expanding Path of Exile yet again with Delve, the game's first infinite dungeon that will challenge even the hardiest of players.

    Posted on 08/09/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • Incursion League Will Send You Back in Time Starting June 1st

    The good folks at Grinding Gear are getting ready to unleash a brand-new Challenge league to its players when Incursion launches on June 1st. It’s going to bring some fascinating new content to players as well the chance to travel back in time over a thousand years. The goal for Incursion is, according to Chris Wilson, to blur the line between league and expansion and to give players new items, new areas, new monsters, new characters.

    Posted on 05/10/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • The Bestiary Challenge League Lets You Catch ‘Em All

    Due out on March 2nd worldwide for both XBOX and PC, Path of Exile’s about to invite you to be the very best, that no one ever was. The Bestiary Challenge League update brings with it a ton of new content to tackle in a brand new economy with fresh mechanics. Perfect for new and old players alike, the Bestiary update lets you go all Ahab on the monsters and beasties of Wraeclast.

    Posted on 02/15/2018 by William Murphy
  • War for the Atlas Revealed - New Challenges & Ways to Play

    Path of Exile will be expanding in December with War for the Atlas. While Fall of Oriath was an expansion that gave newer players a lot of great content to explore, War for the Atlas is designed to provide new experiences to the game's veteran players. Players will be able to take on challenging fights through new locations and be able to claim some brand new rewards for their efforts. We had a chance to sit down with Grinding Gear's Chris Wilson to learn more.

    Posted on 11/16/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • Oriath Impressions - The Hype is Real

    I have been playing Path of Exile since the very first closed beta. It’s been my go to ARPG ever since then. Most importantly the depth of the game and the amazing replayability. Oriath changes a lot of the core game and some things I like and some things I dislike. It’s bound to happen, changes to a game we don’t like. For this look, I would like to just go over those things and express my concerns and express my joy depending.

    Posted on 08/04/2017 by Josh Hay
  • E3 2017 - The Fall of Oriath Hands On

    Path of Exile is a game I’ve had the chance to get quite familiar with over my years writing for MMORPG. I’ve watched it grow into the impressive and expansive title it is today. But if its latest expansion, The Fall of Oriath is any indicator, we’ve only seen the tip of the iceberg so far.

    Posted on 06/19/2017 by Blake Morse
  • Fall of Oriath Hands-On Preview

    The game has enjoyed incredible popularity amongst ARPG fans and the team has been cranking out numerous expansions over the past couple of years to great success. Now, GGG is back once again with the game’s sixth expansion, Fall of Oriath, and it may prove to be the game’s biggest expansion yet.

    Posted on 06/07/2017 by Michael Bitton
  • The Fall of Oriath Expansion Preview

    Four years ago Path of Exile launched hoping to do justice to its spiritual ancestor Diablo II, and hoping to enjoy a similar kind of success. Today, with numbers rising (a million players signed on in December alone) the Indie RPG is on track to achieve that ambition. Building on last year's momentum, this summer Path of Exile launches for Xbox One and releases its biggest expansion yet—The Fall of Oriath.

    Posted on 02/14/2017 by Neilie Johnson
  • Introducing the Breach Challenge League

    This week we talked to Chris Wilson at Grinding Gear Games about the upcoming Challenge League for Path of Exile. Breach is a new League that is coming in December. Players will be excited to battle some horrific Lords over the holidays as this expansion comes with some great mechanics and fast paced content for players.

    Posted on 11/18/2016 by Garrett Fuller
  • Atlas of Worlds Announced, Launching September 2nd

    Path of Exile is getting a brand new expansion. Called Atlas of Worlds, it launches on September 2nd, and significantly improves the endgame map creation system players have been spending so much time with since the game launched a few years back. We spoke with Grinding Gear’s Chris Wilson about the myriad ways in which Atlas of Worlds improves the endgame for Path of Exile, and how the new Essence Challenge League brings challenges for new players too.

    Posted on 08/12/2016 by William Murphy
  • Venture Into the Labyrinth in Ascendancy

    Grinding Gear Games is set to release Ascendancy, Path of Exile’s fourth expansion, sometime in early 2016 and we recently had the pleasure of sitting down with GGG’s Chris Wilson for a tour of the expansion’s key features.

    Posted on 11/20/2015 by Michael Bitton
  • The Awakening Expansion Will Be a Game Changer

    For the last two years, Path of Exile has been redefining the action-RPG genre, and in a few weeks the game will be launching its biggest expansion ever, The Awakening. Grinding Gear Games has had a dedicated team the last two years, working to bringing The Awakening to life, and from the preview Technical Director Jonathan Rogers gave this week in downtown San Francisco, The Awakening's going to be quite literally a game-changer.

    Posted on 04/10/2015 by Neilie Johnson
  • Catarina - Master of the Dead Revealed

    Grinding Gear Games' Path of Exile is set to receive its second major expansion on August 20th, and we caught up with CEO Chris Wilson to reveal two of Forsaken Masters' big new features: the Witch Catarina, Master of the Dead and the Standard Challenge League coming with the expansion: The Rampage League. Read on for all the details.

    Posted on 08/07/2014 by William Murphy
  • Sacrifice of the Vaal Expansion Preview

    Last fall, I met with the guys from Grinding Gears games shortly before they launched their hit online action RPG, Path of Exile. Four months and five million registered players later, the team stands on the cusp of releasing their first major content update, Sacrifice of the Vaal. I met with Grinding Gears Managing Director Chris Wilson and Path of Exile Technical Director Jonathan Rogers once again this week, and the two filled me in on what we can expect from this first sizable content dump.

    Posted on 02/28/2014 by Neilie Johnson
  • On Launch, The Future, and Beyond

    Path of Exile has been in open beta for quite some time and has been well-received by players. Grinding Gears is ready to launch the game into retail release with some awesome new features. We've got a preview of what can be expected. Check it out and leave us your impressions in the comments.

    Posted on 10/11/2013 by Blake Morse
  • The New Scion Class and End of Act 3

    With Path of Exile's official release just around the corner on October 23rd, we caught up with Grinding Gears to take a look at the new Scion class, the all new end of Act 3 content, and all the new features in the launch build.

    Posted on 10/04/2013 by Blake Morse
  • Dethroning Diablo?

    Path of Exile is a game that has many fans of the action RPG niche of the MMO space very excited. Later this week, PoE will enter its open beta phase of development. In the meantime, we've got a spiffy preview for our readers. Check it out before joining the conversation in the comments.

    Posted on 01/22/2013 by Blake Morse

Interviews

  • Path of Exile Interview - Delving Into Delve

    With the recent launch of the latest Path of Exile expansion, Delve, players are hard at work seeing how far into the mines they can run. Meanwhile, devs are working equally hard to make improvements in the popular new content. We took an opportunity to catch up with the team to find out how launch went, what's in the works and what's next for Path of Exile.

    Posted on 09/13/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • Catching Up with GGG - Community Hijinks, Microtransaction Madness & More

    Path of Exile developers are some of the busiest people we know, but they're never too busy for their community. We had the chance to talk with Community Director Bex about the amazing PoE players and fans. We also learned more about how microtransactions brought out from concept to finished product and even a little bit about how the community manages to surprise the team nearly every day. Read on!

    Posted on 07/23/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • Chris Wilson on the Tencent Investment & the Future of Grinding Gear

    Today's news that Tencent had completed the purchase of controlling shares in Path of Exile's Grinding Gear Games came straight out of left field. We managed to fire off a few questions to GGG's Chris Wilson to learn more about the investment and what it means for the future of Path of Exile and Grinding Gear.

    Posted on 05/21/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • Chatting the Bestiary and 2017’s Success with Chris Wilson

    2017 was a massive year for Grinding Gear Games and Path of Exile. Touting more players than ever before, the online Action RPG seems to keep growing at an impressive rate. We chatted with GGG’s Chris Wilson after our recent preview of the upcoming 3.2 Bestiary Challenge League update to talk about the game’s ongoing success and what keeps it fresh after so many years.

    Posted on 02/15/2018 by William Murphy
  • GGG Teasing Out 3.2.0 & What They Have to Say About It

    Over the course of the last couple weeks, Grinding Gear has been teasing out the next major content expansion and that we'll all know more in a couple of weeks after a press tour. We managed to squeak in a few questions to Chris Wilson to see if we could extract any new information about 3.2.0 and about what else the team has been working on too.

    Posted on 01/31/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • Checking in with GGG About the Launch of War for the Atlas

    Last week was a huge one for Path of Exile with the launch of War for the Atlas. The expanded content brings a whole new level of challenge to end-game players. We sat down with Grinding Gear’s Chris Wilson to ask about the launch and what may be coming next.

    Posted on 12/12/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • Grinding Gear Talks About the New Official Trade Site

    Grinding Gear recently opened the official Path of Exile Trade Site that provides players more options for players to participate in trading. We had the opportunity to interview the team to learn more about the development process and how it's being used give players new flexibility when it comes to finding just the right items.

    Posted on 11/14/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • It's Never a Dull Day at Grinding Gear

    It’s never a dull day at Grinding Gear Games. The team is always hard at work to provide Path of Exile players with the best experiences possible, both in older content, with newly-released content and in planning new adventures for players. We touched base with GGG to see what they’ve been up to lately.

    Posted on 10/09/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • The Path of Exile Build of the Week is Back & More

    In this week's Path of Exile: The Exiled Tribune, Grinding Gear Games tackles a number of questions across a variety of topics including the return of the Build of the Week, the Hideout Showcase event, Harbinger League stats and lots more.

    Posted on 09/12/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • China Launch, XBox One & Plans for the Future

    Over the last month or so, Grinding Gear Games has been busy with a Path of Exile expansion release, a console release and making sure the game’s in the best shape ever – all while looking to the future as well. We asked for some of your burning questions and sent them along to GGG. Today, we have the answers straight from the team.

    Posted on 08/30/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • Grinding Gear & the CBT Launch of The Fall of Oriath

    Last week marked a huge moment for Path of Exile with the launch of the closed beta for The Fall of Oriath expansion. We had a chance to snag a few team members for a chat about launching the CBT. See what they had to say!

    Posted on 06/12/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • The Breach as a Core Feature & the Expansion!

    During the past week, a lot of news came down from the Path of Exile team. Between the news of The Fall of Oriath expansion and the fact that The Breach would soon become a core game feature for the duration, players have a lot to look forward to in the future. We chatted with Chris Wilson to learn more.

    Posted on 02/21/2017 by William Murphy
  • The Exiled Tribune - Dave Brevik Speaks About His New Role

    Welcome to this week's edition of the Path of Exile: The Exiled Tribune. In addition to our regular update about all things development-related and the celebration of community, we had the chance to ask Dave Brevik about his new advisory position with Grinding Gear Games as it prepares to launch Path of Exile in China. See what's new this week in Path of Exile!

    Posted on 10/24/2016 by Suzie Ford
  • The Prophecy Challenge League Explained

    Path of Exile remains one of the top action RPGs on the market. The reason the game remains so successful is the dedication of the Grinding Gears team and their solid schedule of updates. On June 3rd, the latest update will go live and we got the chance to chat with Chris Wilson about the passion his team has for the game and the upcoming patch which should have players ready to fulfill their own destinies.

    Posted on 05/19/2016 by Garrett Fuller
  • Exclusive Class Reveal - The Trickster Coming to Ascendancy

    With Path of Exile ready to expand on March 4th, Grinding Gears is ready to unleash new information about new Ascendancy class skills. We are pleased to present the reveal the Trickster, the final of the three Shadow specs coming in Ascendancy. We have an exclusive trailer, screens and a mini interview with GG's Chris Wilson.

    Posted on 02/04/2016 by Suzie Ford
  • The Awakening - Definitely Something to Get Excited About

    Path of Exile is ready to expand in the next few weeks. While lots of time has been spent on beta testing and developers have been sending out information to players, there still remain a few hidden nuggets of information and content that are worthy of a lot of excitement. We chatted with Chris Wilson about those things that may have remained unspoken. See what he had to say!

    Posted on 06/30/2015 by Suzie Ford
  • The Games of 2013: Path of Exile

    Part of our ongoing effort to keep our readers informed is to make sure they have the knowledge they need to be excited about a game. We've reached out to every developer releasing a game this year to have them talk a bit about why their game is special. Next up in this ongoing series is Grinding Gears Games' Path of Exile. Read our mini-interview and then talk about it in the comments.

    Posted on 01/30/2013 by William Murphy

Media

  • Ripper X Walks the Path of Exile

    This week in our first impressions video series, Ripper X steps bravely into the Path of Exile, a completely free-to-play online Action RPG in the vein of Diablo and Torchlight.

    Posted on 03/07/2012 by Ripper X

General Articles

  • The 35 Greatest MMOs of All Time: Numbers 35 to 26

    This will ruffle some feathers. The staff at MMORPG.com, from President Craig McGregor and CTO Ben Krueger, to our wonderful list of reviewers, columnists, and community managers, all the way down to your humble and lowly Managing Editor (me) have voted. We took the top player-rated games from our Game List, including those that have been closed after launch, and we ranked them. Each of us filing up our own top 35 list from greatest to least great.

    Posted on 09/18/2015 by William Murphy
  • Suzie's Games of 2013

    Last week we took a look back at the year that was and listed our favorite games. This week we turn to the year ahead and the games that have us sitting on pins and needles in anticipation. Each staff member will have his (or her!) day and we move on to Suzie for our series' final installment. See what's got Suzie all of a dither and then leave your thoughts in the comments.

    Posted on 01/11/2013 by Suzie Ford

Announcements

Awards

  • The 2013 MMORPG.com Awards

    A new year, and that means it's time to look back at the past. Our annual Players' Choice awards where you get to vote on your favorite games from the year are coming soon, but we're leading things off with the Staff Picks for the best games of 2013 across a range of categories. Read on and find out what we picked!

    Posted on 01/02/2014 by William Murphy

Columns

  • Path of Exile: The Exiled Tribune - Catching Up with GGG

    It's been awhile since we last checked in on the Path of Exile team to see what they've been up to recently and we're not disappointed. Content update 3.5.0 is on its way with lots of info sure to be coming along soon. And what about those FFA boss fights? See what else is new!

    Posted on 10/25/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • Inspecting Incursion

    A new league has started in Path of Exile, and Red Thomas created a new character to check it out. He touches on some of the new features unique to the league and offers some tips for players who want to give it a shot.

    Posted on 06/21/2018 by Red Thomas
  • GGG Tapping Into Its Community

    It's once again time for our Path of Exile: The Exiled Tribune column that shines the spotlight on all-things PoE over recent days. With the Incursion League in full swing, GGG has turned its eye to the vibrant community with announcements of contests and calls for submissions in a newly announced art contest and for the Build of the Week video series.

    Posted on 06/19/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • It's Never a Quiet Week for Exiles!

    The ramp up to the next big content drop is underway and Grinding Gear will be pulling out all the stops to provide Path of Exile players with all the information they need when it hits. Lots of information should be coming in the next week or two, but that doesn't mean that there hasn't been a ton of great stuff to see and learn over the course of the past week. Read on, Exiles, to see what's new in PoE!

    Posted on 04/16/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • Ascendancy Changes, the Bestiary League FAQ & Much More

    After Grinding Gear's whirlwind media tour to introduce the next big update to Path of Exile, the team took a slight breather yet still managed to show off some pretty cool stuff. In this week's Exiled Tribune, we'll take a look at the PoE site updates and the most intriguing factoids found in each.

    Posted on 02/27/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • Grinding Away with Grinding Gear on the XBOX One

    Rob jumped into Path of Exile just after New Years to see what’s changed in the last few years. Turns out it’s a lot.

    Posted on 01/19/2018 by Robert Lashley
  • The Year in Review + a Look at 'How We Did It'

    Throughout 2017, Grinding Gear was a busy company with expanding Path of Exile. Between The Fall of Oriath and War for the Atlas and with all the new content added between, Exiles had a lot to do. In our latest Exiled Tribune, we take a look back with the team at the year that was as well as catch up on design and development blogs across several topics.

    Posted on 01/16/2018 by Suzie Ford
  • The 10 Best MMOs of 2017

    We recently awarded our MMO of the year to Final Fantasy XIV, and for good reason. It’s been another banner year for Final Fantasy fans and their MMORPG, but it’s not the only MMO that had a solid 2017. Sure enough, there weren’t many great new games to play in 2017. But we’re taking a look at the games we played, in beta and fully launched, and picking our favorites.

    Posted on 12/27/2017 by William Murphy
  • Bringing 2017 to a Close but Keeping Busy

    With 2017 coming to a close, Path of Exile is in a great place going into 2018. The last couple of weeks have seen the team keeping busy after the launch of War for the Atlas, though perhaps with a bit of holiday chill thrown in for good measure. Let's take a look at the most recent happenings.

    Posted on 12/26/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • It's All About Community

    The last couple of weeks in Path of Exile have been a celebration of an awesome community. From a fan art competition to a community showcase to two more episodes of Build of the Week, it's YOU, faithful Exile, who shines at centerstage. Check out this week's Exiled Tribune to learn more.

    Posted on 09/27/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • The Fall of Oriath Launches!

    This week was a big one for Path of Exile with the launch of the highly anticipated "The Fall of Oriath" expansion. Up to now, GGG has been pretty quiet while in "crunch mode" leading up to launch but devs have returned to the forums with new information about the Harbinger challenges and rewards, a new manifesto, the Oriath patch notes, a new mystery box and more. The community's in there as well with some great video guides that you definitely don't want to miss.

    Posted on 08/07/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • Beta Updates, Storm Burst Revealed & More

    Grinding Gear Games is definitely in crunch mode when it comes to Path of Exile. But that doesn't mean that there isn't a lot going on. In this week's The Exiled Tribune, we'll take a look at the Beta Week 5 wrap up, the newly revealed Storm Burst skill, some boss concept art and the ongoing Turmoil Events.

    Posted on 07/17/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • GGG Talks About the Pantheon System & Beta Week #2

    This week in the Path of Exile: The Exiled Tribune, we're going to let the team speak more than we do to talk about the upcoming Pantheon System, a way that players can claim the powers of the gods for themselves. In addition, the second week of beta testing for The Fall of Oriath is in the bag and GGG shares a few insights.

    Posted on 06/26/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • A Quiet But Productive Week

    The Path of Exile beta for The Fall of Oriath is still ongoing and while it was overall a quiet week, a lot happened to get the expansion ready for launch later this year. In addition, devs spent time at last week's E3 in Los Angeles and have a brief wrap report with links to some of the awesome coverage.

    Posted on 06/19/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • Scions, Beta Info & Designing the Next Expansion Q&A

    With the closed beta for Path of Exile: The Fall of Oriath ready to kick off literally within days, GGG is working hard to get things squared away. They took the time to answer a few of our questions about changes coming to the Scion Ascendancy, the upcoming CBT and how the team plans for the next expansion. See what they had to say in our latest Exiled Tribune!

    Posted on 05/29/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • Twitch Prime, New Manifestos & Legacy Leagues

    Grinding Gear is continuing to provide its community with information about significant changes coming to Path of Exile as the time for The Fall of Oriath expansion beta launch nears. In this week's Exiled Tribune, we take a look at announcements ranging from new manifestos, the extension of Legacy Leagues and a partnership with Twitch Prime for free stuff.

    Posted on 05/22/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • The Fall of Oriath FAQ, Q&A and Sundry Tidbits

    Grinding Gear is working up to the first beta test of the Path of Exile expansion, The Fall of Oriath. Over the week that was, a new beta FAQ was published as well as a preview of the new minimap and a new boss fight for a Minor God named Abberath.

    Posted on 05/15/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • Ramping Up to Oriath - DoTs, Zones & NPCs

    With the Path of Exile expansion The Fall of Oriath arriving soon, the amount of information about changes coming to the game across a number of systems is ramping up. Grinding Gear spent more time explaining upcoming alterations to the damage over time system as well as previewing some of Oriath's zones and changes to NPCs. It's a great week to be an exile!

    Posted on 05/08/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • Ramping Up to 3.0 & a Commitment to Community

    Grinding Gear Games is ramping up for Path of Exile 3.0 - The Fall of Oriath. With the amount of interesting new revelations this week, and with the promise of more to come, it's a great time to be an Exile.

    Posted on 05/01/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • Latest Dev Q&A and a Teaser of Things to Come

    This week in Path of Exile, things were humming along on the way to The Fall of Oriath expansion with a nice preview of some of the locations that players will find. In addition, the team published the fourth part of its community Q&A, as well as an in-house interview with Rachael, a member of the Customer Support team. It's another great week to be an Exile!

    Posted on 04/17/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • Devs Tackle Another Round of Questions

    The Path of Exile team was a bit quiet this week -- after all, they're ramping up for an expansion, right? But they sent along some nifty little tidbits including a retrospective look at how the game's trailers were made and how item mods are described. It's another fun peek to look inside the development of PoE.

    Posted on 04/10/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • GGG on Balancing Minions & Making Noise

    This week's Path of Exile: The Exiled Tribune, we have a nifty mini-interview with Designer Rory Rackham about the upcoming minion balance changes coming in The Fall of Oriath as well as Lead Sound Artist Erik Olofsson about how sounds are made in the game. They provide some interesting background information about design processes. We'll also take a look at some other interesting tidbits from the week that was.

    Posted on 04/03/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - The Community Asks, GG Answers

    In this week's Path of Exile: The Exiled Tribune, we take a look at some of the amazing community questions that were asked and later answered by Grinding Gear. In addition, you'll be able to hear some of the new environments in The Fall of Oriath as well as listen to the thematic music that accompanies them. It was another great week to be an exile!

    Posted on 03/27/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - 2.6.0 Launch Success

    This week in Path of Exile, a huge milestone was reached with a 40% increase in concurrent online players, developers are asking for your questions, a compilation of funny videos has been collected and much more. See what's new, Exile!

    Posted on 03/20/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - A 2.6.0 Post Mortem with Chris Wilson

    Welcome to the latest Path of Exile: The Exiled Tribune and another great week to be part of a great ARPG. We had a chance for a bit of a post-mortem with Grinding Gear about the recent 2.6.0 patch and have a wrap up of the week's news.

    Posted on 03/13/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - A Big Week for the Legacy Challenge League

    Exiles had an amazing week this week with the launch of Content Update 2.6.0 and the Legacy Challenge League. According to the Path of Exile Facebook page, it was one of the game's biggest weekends ever. Add in new Divination cards, new ways to filter information, new Threshold jewels, buffs to unique items and much more and it's easy to see that this week was a great week to be an Exile.

    Posted on 03/06/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - Balance - It's All About Expanding Choices

    The Path of Exile team had a bit quieter week this week, though with the big news that a number of balance changes are incoming, some with 2.6.0 and some of the "more extreme changes" to be seen during The Fall of Oriath beta. In addition, the team gave some hints about new Unique Items, Legacy League Relics and a wrap up of all of the previews for the upcoming expansion. Read on, Exiles!

    Posted on 02/27/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • What CRPGs Still Do Better Than Modern RPGs

    RPGs have come a long way since isometric CRPGs ruled the PC gaming landscape. Roleplaying games today are cinematic, action-packed, and feature more mechanical hooks than any two other genres combined. But for all of their advancements, there’s still something CRPGs do better and it’s important. This week in the RPG Files, we discuss exactly what that is.

    Posted on 02/24/2017 by Christopher Coke
  • The Exiled Tribune - A New Expansion for Exiles

    This week was a huge one for Path of Exile with the announcement of The Fall of Oriath expansion. Fans were treated to a number previews, including one right here at MMORPG.com, that discussed the big changes coming in 3.0.0. With this an other announcements this week, it was ag reat week to be an Exile.

    Posted on 02/20/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - Climbing the Stairway to Heaven

    This week was a great one for all things Path of Exile. Between the new Act 1 stairway to quality of life improvements to the balancing of legacy uniques, it was a great time to be an Exile.

    Posted on 02/13/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - Ready! Steady! Go! Off to the Races

    In this week's Path of Exile: The Exiled Tribune, we're going to the races! That's right, the Weekend of Races is set to hit the ground running on February 10th and cross the finish line on February 12th. We had a chance to chat with the devs to learn more about the races, what's involved, what players can score and more.

    Posted on 02/06/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • Path of Exile: The Exiled Tribune: Climbing the Ladder Alone & Starting a Microtransaction Revolution

    This week, the Path of Exile team has some interesting tidbits of information to share with its community in the form of the forthcoming "Solo Self-Found" mode coming to ladder participation with 2.6.0 We'll take a peek inside the design of the labyrinth and check out the second round of winners from the PoE Talent Competition. Lastly, we'll take a look at some new microtransactions and talk with devs about how Grinding Gear is on the cutting edge of funding Path of Exile.

    Posted on 01/30/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - Soon to be the Next (and Best) Multiplatform ARPG

    Last week was a big one for the Path of Exile team with the huge announcement that one of the most beloved ARPGs will soon become a truly multi-platform game. In addition, the amazing community talent competition came to a close with so much awesome work that Grinding Gear has decided to hand out even more prizes. It was a great week to be an Exile!

    Posted on 01/23/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • Five Great ARPGs for Busy People

    I was talking to @BillMurphy earlier today about what he’s been playing lately and we got started talking about action RPGs and how great they are for busy parents, extrapolating into how fantastic they are for anyone with limited time to play. MMOs, while magnificent and are our passion, tend to demand more time to feel as if progress has been made, hence the easy joy that comes out of ARPGs.

    Posted on 01/17/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - Planning Ahead 13-Weeks at a Time

    Welcome back to another issue of the Path of Exile - The Exiled Tribune. In this week's update, we'll take a look ahead at how the team will be sticking to its release schedule and how far out the next expansion could be as well as some other performance issues. In addition, the Talent Competition will be drawing to a close later today, some Breach League stats have been revealed and some spiffy new microtransactions have been released. Join us!

    Posted on 01/16/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - Looking Back Has Never Been So Fun

    It's always fun to look back at things as they were, to remember without the vaunted "rose-colored glasses" at how it used to be. In the spirit of the turn of the year, the Path of Exile team has taken players down a pretty fun walk down memory lane by showing off some of the game's earliest moments in visuals and in patch notes. Come along and see what it's all about.

    Posted on 01/09/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • The Top 20 MMO News Stories of 2016

    2016 is in the bag folks, and after 52 weeks of MMO news, you’ll be surprised (or maybe) not to see what the most viewed stories on MMORPG.com were over the course of the year. Some of you will probably see why Black Desert gets a lot of reporting too, both here and across the web. Read on for our top 20 stories of 2016!

    Posted on 01/03/2017 by William Murphy
  • The Exiled Tribune - A Year in the Life

    With 2017 already underway, Grinding Gear has offered a few thoughts about the year that was for Path of Exile. And, while the rest of the week was pretty quiet, there are still some fun nuggets of information to be found.

    Posted on 01/02/2017 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - Stash Updates, Divining the Future & Devs on Film

    In this week's Path of Exile: The Exiled Tribune, Grinding Gear gives a preview of things to come in 2.5.1, shows off updates to the popular Divination Stash Tab, and takes to the airwaves in a pair of interviews. See what's what for the week that was in The Exiled Tribune.

    Posted on 12/27/2016 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - Grab a Piece of PoE History

    This week's Path of Exile - The Exiled Tribune features a pretty cool new contest introduced by the team that allows players free rein to create anything game-related in whatever medium appeals to them. The best part is that winners will receive truly one-of-a-kind comic artwork for their effort! Add in a new developer interview and new microtransactions, including some nifty holiday-themed ones, and it's another great week to be an Exile!

    Posted on 12/19/2016 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - The Community Grill, Stash Tabs & More,

    The Path of Exile team spent last week keeping tabs on the recently released Content Update 2.5.0 and the The Breach Challenge League and also spent time with players in interviews and writing up a few choice articles. It's been another busy week but we also managed to squeeze in a few questions too. Check out The Exiled Tribune.

    Posted on 12/12/2016 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - Diving Into the Breach

    In this week's Path of Exile: The Exiled Tribune, we take a look at Grinding Gear Games' tenth anniversary, all things Breach, some cool ways to take on the new content, some additions & improvements to Map Mods, what's coming in the near future and a few more pretty cool reveals from the week that was.

    Posted on 12/05/2016 by Suzie Ford
  • Essence Crafting Developer Q&A, Breach League Design & More

    With last week's big announcement of the next major Path of Exile update, The Breach, there is a lot to talk about in this week's The Exiled Tribune. The team took the time to talk about Essence as a core game and crafting mechanic, participated in a live stream to talk bout the Breach League's design and skills and much more. We also have a developer Q&A to talk about the significant parts of The Breach that you won't want to miss!

    Posted on 11/28/2016 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - The Arrival of 2.4.2 & The Breach!

    This was a big week around the Path of Exile world with the big announcement of The Breach expansion and the release of patch 2.4.2. Check out The Exiled Tribune for all the relevant happenings!

    Posted on 11/21/2016 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - POE's Funniest Home Videos & More

    The spotlight of this week's Path of Exile: The Exiled Tribune is a great video from Grinding Gear's Bex and her very own version of POE's Funniest Home Videos. Who'd have thought that each week's Build of the Week could not only be educational but so damned entertaining! Not only that, but we take a look at a pair of Skill Gem reveals, improvements to the Master Missions and the upcoming release timeline for updates. Read on!

    Posted on 11/14/2016 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - GGG Halloween Staff Meeting Unmasked

    The truth is out! In this week's Path of Exile: The Exiled Tribune, players and fans will learn what -really- goes on in the Grinding Gear Games offices. In addition, the Build of the Week is out and the Scorching Ray Skill Gem Mechanics are revealed. Not only that, get a load of Essence Statistics and a look at the daily deal watch list. It's was a great week for POE!

    Posted on 11/07/2016 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - Three Awesome Years, Wallpapers, BotW & More

    This week's Path of Exile: The Exiled Tribune celebrates a big event right along with Grinding Gear Games: PoE's third birthday! Add in some brand new wallpapers, the latest Build of the Week, a v2.4.2 update, a special 3-day racing event and much more are featured.

    Posted on 10/31/2016 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - New Sextant Mods Q&A, Spotlight on Community Art & Abodes

    Welcome back to another issue of the Path of Exile - The Exiled Tribune. In this week's discussion, we turn our attention to the forthcoming v2.4.1 update that will include some brand new Sextant mods that will add a lot of interesting mechanics, and not just a bit of spice, to maps. In addition, the Art Contest found its final three, the Build of the Week features a Deadeye Ranger and the community shines again in a brand new Hideout Showcase.

    Posted on 10/17/2016 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - Dev & Community Update & a Surprise Q&A

    Welcome back to the The Exiled Tribune for Path of Exile. In each week's article, we take a look at what's going on on the development side of the game and what's cooking (sometimes literally!) in the community. This week's Tribune focuses on channeled skills, the unique belt design contest, the Build of the Week and a small surprise Q&A with the devs.

    Posted on 10/10/2016 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - Patches, Updates, Build of the Week & More

    This week's Path of Exile: The Exiled Tribune is a good meaty one with news about forthcoming v2.4x patches and changes to the difficulty levels for the game with the arrival of v3.0 in 2017. In addition, there's a nice update from the community fan art competition, the build of the week and other interesting news. Pull up a chair and sit a spell!

    Posted on 10/03/2016 by Suzie Ford
  • Community Art Competition, Atlas of Worlds Cloth Map & More

    Welcome back to the Exiled Tribune, a place where we keep you up to date on all the latest Path of Exile news from the developers and community. This week we take a look at the Atlas of Worlds cloth map, get the skinny on new microtransactions, blaze through the Build of the Week and much more.

    Posted on 09/26/2016 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - The Atlas Manifesto, Patch Notes & Community Spotlight

    This week in Path of Exile, the community once again had its chance to shine in the spotlight with the announcement of a new contest, a high octane Build of the Week, and a curated list of community art assets. Not to be outdone, the Path of Exile development team took to the airwaves with a series of videos to show off new microtransactions, provided insight into the latest patch and revealed plans for upcoming tweaks to The Atlas.

    Posted on 09/19/2016 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune - The Community Shepherds the Newest of the New

    In this week's Exiled Tribune, we take a look at how the community is rallying around its newest players by creating a bunch of guides to ease the way into Path of Exile. It doesn't stop there either. Not to be left out, the site has been updated with new wallpapers and a look at what's new in the wide world of microtransactions. Slip into your robe, grab your coffee and open up The Exiled Tribune.

    Posted on 09/12/2016 by Suzie Ford
  • The Exiled Tribune – Essence League and Atlas of Worlds Launch

    Last week was a doozy for Path of Exile fans as the Atlas of Worlds expansion launched and the Essence Challenge League began. It’s never a dull moment in Wraeclast, and there’s a lot of stuff to recap for this week. Read on, for your weekly dose of the Exiled Tribune.

    Posted on 09/06/2016 by William Murphy
  • The Exiled Tribune – How Will the Atlas of Worlds Work?

    This week in the Exiled Tribune, we’re covering all of the week’s Path of Exile news with aplomb and grit of a true ARPG hero. That is to say, we’re smashing everything, looting anything blue or above, and wandering around killing all the monsters. What does this have to do with the week’s news?

    Posted on 08/29/2016 by William Murphy
  • The Exiled Tribune – Atlas of Worlds Expansion Unveiled and More

    In this new weekly column, we seek to cover all the week’s Path of Exile news, fan creations, community hot topics, and more. This week, The Atlas Weekly is all about the new Atlas of Worlds expansion reveal, the new base items, free Darkness Mystery Boxes, ZiggyD’s Hydra of the Guardian Boss showcase, and a brand new community podcast.

    Posted on 08/22/2016 by William Murphy
  • SWTOR - Less MMO, More RPG Than Ever Before

    Hot on the heels of The Force Awakens, Chris jumped back into Star Wars: The Old Republic to see how it holds up. It’s half the MMO it used to be and a much better RPG because of it! Read on to find out why. Plus, in the Quick Hits, we have impressions of The Division, Darkest Dungeon’s roadmap from launch, a new character and the possibility of a new demo for Final Fantasy XV, free content for Shadowrun: Hong Kong, and more!

    Posted on 02/05/2016 by Christopher Coke
  • That's Not an RPG! 2016 Edition

    It’s a new year and that means it’s time to return again to a question we first posed last year: What exactly makes an RPG? As different genres appropriate more staples of the roleplaying genre, the waters continue to get muddier and muddier. Is Fallout 4 an RPG, for example? How about Destiny? Let’s break down exactly what makes an RPG in 2016.

    Posted on 01/01/2016 by Christopher Coke
  • Undead Labs Brings Us… Pokemon?

    After a couple of slow weeks in RPG news, the presses are back with a vengeance. The most interesting news of the week is easily Undead Labs new RPG, Moonrise. While it’s not exactly Pokemon, it certainly scratches a similar itch and we couldn’t be more excited. In other news, we have a new IP from Bioware, an expansion for Path of Exile, and Ultima: Forever proving that, sadly, nothing is forever. Read on for that and so much more in this week’s RPG Files!

    Posted on 08/08/2014 by Christopher Coke
  • The Week in RPGs for July 4th

    The post-E3 lull doesn’t have us down! It’s another full week of RPG news here at the RPG Files. For the week of July 3rd, we have a new Dragon Age character reveal, a Witcher spin-off, Destiny predictions, and another case of professional gaming as a boys’ club. Read on for all that and more!

    Posted on 07/04/2014 by Christopher Coke
  • The Best Hybrid MMOs of 2013

    2013 was a great year for the hybrid MMO with some truly solid contenders coming forth to earn your playtime. With only a scant few MMORPGs releasing, more players than ever before branched out into MOBAs, Action-MMOs, and MMOFPSs. It was a year of experimentation and exploration, widening horizons, and seeing just what the free-to-play market has to offer. Join us as we recount the best hybrid MMOs available in 2013.

    Posted on 01/24/2014 by Christopher Coke
  • A Year in Review

    Now that the new year has officially debuted, it's time to take a look back at 2013 and the MMOs that we loved...or not. Read the latest from Adam Tingle to see what he feels are the highlights of the year 2013. Leave us your thoughts in the comments.

    Posted on 01/03/2014 by Adam Tingle

User Features

Login or Register to submit a feature!
8.0
Avg. User Rating: 8.0
(224 Votes)