Dark or Light
logo
Logo

World of Warships and Verizon Present Verizon Warrior Series Tournament Finals for August 8

Poorna Shankar Posted:
Category:
News 0

World of Warships together with Verizon are announcing the Warrior Series Tournament Finals set to take place in just a few days on August 8. If you’re keen on checking it out, we’ve got the details for you.

If you’re interested in checking out the finals, they’ll bestreamed exclusively on the official World of Warships Twitch channel. As for dates and times, well we already said it’s taking place on August 8. The times are below, including the various time zones.

  • PT: 8am - 1:30pm
  • CT: 10am - 3:30pm
  • ET: 11am - 4:30pm
  • UTC: 3pm - 8:30pm

If the name of the tournament didn’t give it away, this tournament involves veterans, with over 230 Veterans participating in the tournament. That comes out to over two thirds of all players in the tournament. You can actually watch the stories of these veterans and see how gaming helped them deal with trauma in the video below:

David M. Caruth, Head of Military segment, said of the series,

"We believe it’s our duty to support organizations that care for the men and women who have served our country and are proud to continue our efforts by partnering once again with Wargaming. What these organizations do to support our nation’s heroes is commendable and it’s through programs like the Verizon Wounded Warrior Series that we help to raise awareness and much needed funds to assist with their missions to help our soldiers.”

In more uplifting news, livestreams have been raising money throughout the series for the Wounded Warrior Project. These donations have already more than doubled the $10,000 fundraising goal. If you’re interested in donating, donations will be open until August 8th, 4:45pm PT.

World of Warships received Dutch cruisers earlier last month after receiving German Destroyers back in June.


ShankTheTank

Poorna Shankar

A highly opinionated avid PC gamer, Poorna blindly panics with his friends in various multiplayer games, much to the detriment of his team. Constantly questioning industry practices and a passion for technological progress drive his love for the video game industry. He pulls no punches and tells it like he sees it. He runs a podcast, Gaming The Industry, with fellow writer, Joseph Bradford, discussing industry practices and their effects on consumers.