Trending Games | World of Warcraft | Overwatch | Anthem | Monster Hunter World

    Facebook Twitter YouTube YouTube.Gaming Discord
Quick Game Jump
Members:3,824,049 Users Online:0



Filter Week Filter Game

Free Zone: Stuck in Denial

Posted Dec 14, 2009 by Jon Wood

Free Zone: Stuck in Denial's Richard Ahioshi focuses his attention this week on the denial some players feel toward the F2P side of the MMO market and any possible success it may see.

Richard Aihoshi

Back in the late 1960s, Dr. Elizabeth Kubler-Ross wrote a book called On Death and Dying. Based on her extensive experience working with and observing patients who had a variety of terminal conditions, it laid out a model for the sequence of emotional states they tend to follow. Often referred to as the Grief Cycle, it includes seven stages. In order, shock is the first, then denial, anger, bargaining, depression, testing and acceptance. It should be noted that not everyone gets through them all, or do so at the same speed.

The denial stage is characterized by unsupported disbelief. It's an extreme form of wishful thinking wherein people simply reject their diagnoses and the attached prognoses. They don't want to be dying, so they aren't. Their doctors and any medical evidence they may have are wrong. Some pass through this very quickly. Others get stuck there for a long time; in some cases, they never move on.

Read Stuck in Denial.


Special Offer