Dark or Light

Elder Scrolls Online's Next Chapter is Blackwood, Launches June 1 on PC and June 8 on Console

Close shut the jaws of Oblivion

Poorna Shankar Updated: Posted:
News 0

Zenimax Online has just unveiled Blackwood, the next chapter in Elder Scrolls Online as part of their Gates of Oblivion year-long adventure.

Blackwood is set to release on June 1 for PC, and June 8 for console. This chapter will see us uncovering the nefarious schemes of Mehrunes Dagon, the Daedric Prince, and will take place roughly 800 years before The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion.

Blackwood is set to include more than 30 hours of a new main quest, side quests, quality of life improvements, and more. For the first time, Companions will be adventure alongside you in your travels. Blackwood will take you from the Imperial City, to the southern Cyrodillic city of Leyawiin, to Shadowfen, and the Blackwood region as a whole.

There’s a new Trial called Rockgrove, along with Oblivion Portal World Events, unique Chapter-specific rewards and more. March will see the first release in the Gates of Oblivion year-long content with a new dungeon DLC called Flames of Ambition. It releases on March 8 for PC, Mac, and Stadia. If you’re on Xbox or PlayStation, you’ll get the dungeon on March 16.

Additional releases for later this year include an unannounced Q3 DLC dungeon, and an unannounced Q4 DLC story zone. For those looking to preorder, you can do so now to receive immediate access to the game and the Nagahide Welwa Ravager mount and Nightmare Bear Cub pet. This pet is available as a pre-purchase reward only until March 17, 2021. Additional preorder rewards include:

  • Dremora Kynreeve Outfit
  • Deadlands Wamasu Pet
  • 1× Iron Atronach Crate
  • 3× Blackwood Treasure Maps
  • 2× Experience Scrolls

Blackwood will be available to purchase in the following editions:

  • The Elder Scrolls Online Collection: Blackwood
  • The Elder Scrolls Online Collection: Blackwood CE
  • The Elder Scrolls Online: Blackwood Upgrade
  • The Elder Scrolls Online: Blackwood Upgrade Collector’s Edition

Note that the collector’s editions include the base game and every previous Chapter to have released thus far.


Poorna Shankar