Dark or Light
Elder Scrolls Online Logo

Elder Scrolls Online

Bethesda Softworks | Official Site


Average User Rating

766 Votes

Login to cast your rating!

Elder Scrolls Online Unveils Dark Heart of Skyrim, Greymoor Chapter Out May 18

Joseph Bradford Posted:
News 0

Zenimax Online Studios have just unveiled a metric ton of information about the next chapter for Elder Scrolls Online, called the Dark Heart of Skyim.

First up, the season will span four updates split thusly:

  • Harrowstorm DLC dungeon pack Q1
  • Greymoor Chapter May 18 (PC), June 2 (PS4, Xbox One)
  • TBD DLC dungeon pack Q3
  • TBD Story DLC Q4

Let’s tackle these in order. Harrowstorm will bring two new dungeons, Icereach and Unhallowed Grave. Icereach will task us with investigating the mysterious storms appearing in the Sea of Ghosts, while Unhallowed Grave is an ancient burial site being dug up. After this, a free prologue quest will introduce us to what’s in store for the remainder of the Dark Heart of Skyrim this year.

Here’s the biggie: Greymoor. We’ll return to the province of Skyrim, specifically, Western Skyrim, where we’ll explore the depths of Blackreach. The team notes that while the story of Greymoor is set to the be the darkest yet for the MMO, we’ll still get moments of hope. Returning from the base game are Lyris Titanborn and House Ravenwatch.

Greymoor will feature side quests, of course, but also introduce harrowstorms which are open world group events similar to Dark Anchors, a massive new 12-player trial Kyne's Aegis, the new Antiquities system (travel across Tamriel to recover lost artifacts and rare antiquities, unlocking powerful new gear and rewards for all types of players), public dungeons and delves, and much more.

What else? You’ll be able to explore new and familiar locations like Solitude, Morthal, Labyrinthian, Dragon Bridge, and more. Additionally, quality of life improvements are set to arrive, including a rework of the Vampire Skill Line, which will be free for all ESO players.

Greymoor will be available in the following editions:

  • The Elder Scrolls Online: Greymoor Standard Edition
  • The Elder Scrolls Online: Greymoor Digital Upgrade
  • The Elder Scrolls Online: Greymoor Digital Collector’s Edition
  • The Elder Scrolls Online: Greymoor Digital Collector’s Edition Upgrade

You’ll be able to jump into Greymoor and create a character in a revamped tutorial and start in Western Skyrim (you won’t need prior ESO content). Upon purchasing Greymoor, you’ll have access to the base game, plus its previous chapters, Elsweyr, Morrowind, and Summerset.

If you’re an existing player, you’ll be able to upgrade and begin your adventure in Western Skyrim. Remember, content scales to your level.

Learn more about the upcoming content here.


Joseph Bradford

Joseph has been writing or podcasting about games in some form since about 2012. Having written for multiple major outlets such as IGN, Playboy, and more, Joseph started writing for MMORPG in 2015. When he's not writing or talking about games, you can typically find him hanging out with his 10-year old or playing Magic: The Gathering with his family. Also, don't get him started on why Balrogs *don't* have wings. You can find him on Twitter @LotrLore