Trending Games | World of Warcraft | Overwatch | The Division 2 | Final Fantasy XIV

    Facebook Twitter YouTube Twitch.tv YouTube.Gaming Discord
Register
Quick Game Jump
Members:3,840,036 Users Online:0
Games:949 
Anthem (A)
BioWare | Official Site
CORPG | Setting:Sci-Fi | Status:Development  (est.rel Q1 2019)  | Pub:Electronic Arts
PVP:Yes | Distribution:Download,Retail | Retail Price:$59.99 | Pay Type:Buy to Play | Monthly Fee:n/a
System Req: PC Playstation 4 Xbox One | Out of date info? Let us know!

Anthem Articles

Latest

  • The Almost MMO and Me

    I’ve noticed something of late - I haven’t logged into a real MMORPG, even my precious Elder Scrolls Online, in weeks. In ESO’s case, this is partly because I’m waiting for Elsweyr. But usually, between big content swells of ESO, I’m at least playing something else - GW2, WoW, FFXIV, Neverwinter, and so forth. But there’s a type of game that seems to be meeting my needs for persistence and online play. I’ve been trying to think of a name for them for ages, and I think Almost MMO just about covers it.

    Posted on 03/19/2019 by Aaron Couture
  • Recent
  • Previews
  • Interviews
  • General Articles
  • Awards
  • Columns
  • Guides
  • Anthem Woes

    Bioware teased their game Anthem a while back to a knowing and jaded game industry. At E3 2017 the game was shown off as part of EA’s new line up. People were excited but calls of Destiny suddenly were heard and here we are in early 2019 as the title is already starting to feel the pinch.

    Posted on 03/06/2019 by Garrett Fuller
  • Anthem Ranger Guide to Blowing S**t Up

    I want to let you all in on a little secret: the Ranger is an AOE powerhouse. Don’t let anyone tell you that the Ranger’s only good at single target damage. His combo effect and many of his abilities definitely lean that way, but who cares? The Ranger is one of the best javelins in Anthem when it comes to just blowing s**t up and I’ll tell you how.

    Posted on 02/28/2019 by Michael Bitton
  • Red’s Read on Anthem

    Red Thomas takes advantage of his Premier Origin Access to check out Anthem, the latest result of Bioware and EA tag-teaming efforts. Red gives his impressions of the game and makes a few predictions on its sustainability.

    Posted on 02/28/2019 by Red Thomas
  • The Good and Bad of Anthem So Far

    I’ve been playing Anthem this weekend, despite some frustration I’ve had with its design choices. The moment to moment action of Anthem is top-notch. They’ve nailed the combat, and the verticality of the world is as interesting as they posit. I love what I’ve seen of the characters and learned of the world, but there are fundamental issues I have with the UI and some design choices. Here are a few high level good and the bad bits of Anthem so far, as I see it.

    Posted on 02/19/2019 by William Murphy
  • Anthem Review-in-Progress - A Solid First Impression

    In all the years I’ve been doing this, I don’t think I’ve ever gone into a review anxious. I’ve been looking forward to Anthem since its announcement at EA Play in 2017, but that demo EA put out a couple of weeks ago rattled me. I’ve only spent a couple of hours with the launch version of the game, but I’m glad to be able to report that, at least so far, things are looking a whole lot better.

    Posted on 02/15/2019 by Michael Bitton
  • Builds to Get You Started in Anthem

    Anthem drops in about a week for Origin Access Premier players and in roughly two weeks for everyone else. While we expect there will be a ton of changes between the demo and the full game, these are some ability build ideas to roll with when you jump into the full version of Anthem.

    Posted on 02/07/2019 by Michael Bitton
  • Anthem - Hands On with End Game Content

    The end game is a concept which always looms large over any ongoing multiplayer game. For most games, things are over once you beat the main story, but for MMOs and MMO-lite the main storyline is only the tip of the iceberg. Even for players who take their time while leveling the basic game design is intended for the majority of a player’s time to be spent playing after the leveling content (because they want you to keep playing for as long as the game is around). Thankfully I got a peek at the endgame for Anthem at the recent media event in San Francisco.

    Posted on 02/01/2019 by Robin Baird
  • From Cautiously Optimistic to Cautious

    You know that feeling of excitement you get when you start a new Fallout game and exit the Vault for the first time? The light blinds you momentarily and then your eyes adjust and you see the wide world in front of you, ripe for exploration. I got that feeling when I loaded into Anthem’s beautiful world for the first time, too. And then I moved.

    Posted on 01/28/2019 by Michael Bitton
  • Things to Know About the Anthem VIP Demo

    BioWare’s been working over the last month or so to polish up a demo of Anthem and today players will finally be able to get their hands on it. Before you jump in , there are a couple of things to know about the demo.

    Posted on 01/25/2019 by Michael Bitton

Previews

  • Anthem - Hands On with End Game Content

    The end game is a concept which always looms large over any ongoing multiplayer game. For most games, things are over once you beat the main story, but for MMOs and MMO-lite the main storyline is only the tip of the iceberg. Even for players who take their time while leveling the basic game design is intended for the majority of a player’s time to be spent playing after the leveling content (because they want you to keep playing for as long as the game is around). Thankfully I got a peek at the endgame for Anthem at the recent media event in San Francisco.

    Posted on 02/01/2019 by Robin Baird
  • Anthem Hands On Preview & Interview with Mark Darrah

    Earlier this week I had the opportunity to play the first few hours of Anthem, the demo content (which is available for Origin or EA Access members on Friday), and to talk to the Executive Director for Anthem Mark Darrah. There’s been an absolute glut of information from BioWare over the last few months, so this was a great chance to clear up some of the remaining questions and get a solid impression of what the core gameplay is like.

    Posted on 01/24/2019 by Robin Baird
  • Anthem: Pulling Back the Veil on Lore

    Anthem is set to launch this February, but it still seems like there’s a lot we don’t know about the game. Ahead of tonight’s Video Game Awards, EA hosted a press junket where they told us a bit more about the game’s story, and gave us the news that the VIP Pre-Order DEMO will come in late January, with an “Open for Everyone” Demo the first week of February. Read on for more details.

    Posted on 12/06/2018 by William Murphy
  • PAX West 2018: Anthem Pre-Panel Press Event Report

    We finally have more information on what might be the most anticipated upcoming games: Anthem. Earlier today I got to sit on the pre-panel press event before the big PAX panel to get a sneak peek at the entire reveal before everyone else and a unique chance for a small public Q&A with other members of the gaming press. But you didn’t click into this article to read my gibberish so without further ado it’s time to dive in!

    Posted on 09/01/2018 by Robert Baddeley

Interviews

  • PAX West 2018: Our Interview with Anthem’s Mike Gamble & Mark Darrah

    I have a confession to make: I’ve been holding out on you. After the pre-panel which gave us the previous article filled with tons of Anthem goodies there was a small, room-wide Q&A. I made the decision to hold onto those questions and include them in the post for my interview with Mike Gamble and Mike Darrah.

    Posted on 09/04/2018 by Robert Baddeley

General Articles

  • Things to Know About the Anthem VIP Demo

    BioWare’s been working over the last month or so to polish up a demo of Anthem and today players will finally be able to get their hands on it. Before you jump in , there are a couple of things to know about the demo.

    Posted on 01/25/2019 by Michael Bitton
  • Anthem Gear & Progression Livestream Recap

    With the launch of Anthem fast approaching, EA is finally pulling back the curtain on the game, with the latest livestream tackling gear and progression. Missed the stream? We’ve got you covered.

    Posted on 12/19/2018 by Michael Bitton

Awards

  • MMORPG.com’s Best of 2018 Awards

    The new year is upon us, and that can only mean one thing. Time for us to look back at the year that was while bracing for the year ahead and recount the best (and worst) games we played during the last twelve months. The entire writing staff of MMORPG.com was polled for this year’s awards, and each game that won had a majority vote in its favor.

    Posted on 01/04/2019 by Suzie Ford
  • MMORPG’s E3 2017 Best of Show Awards

    Another E3, another week of insane gaming news. Light though it was on MMO info, online games in general were all over the place in LA last week. And as we’re wont to do, we’re giving them shiny badges for the sole purpose of hoping they’ll share those badges with their adoring fans. What, you expected me to lie about the reason behind awards? HA. I’m way past that, folks.

    Posted on 06/23/2017 by William Murphy

Columns

  • Anthem Woes

    Bioware teased their game Anthem a while back to a knowing and jaded game industry. At E3 2017 the game was shown off as part of EA’s new line up. People were excited but calls of Destiny suddenly were heard and here we are in early 2019 as the title is already starting to feel the pinch.

    Posted on 03/06/2019 by Garrett Fuller
  • Red’s Read on Anthem

    Red Thomas takes advantage of his Premier Origin Access to check out Anthem, the latest result of Bioware and EA tag-teaming efforts. Red gives his impressions of the game and makes a few predictions on its sustainability.

    Posted on 02/28/2019 by Red Thomas
  • The Good and Bad of Anthem So Far

    I’ve been playing Anthem this weekend, despite some frustration I’ve had with its design choices. The moment to moment action of Anthem is top-notch. They’ve nailed the combat, and the verticality of the world is as interesting as they posit. I love what I’ve seen of the characters and learned of the world, but there are fundamental issues I have with the UI and some design choices. Here are a few high level good and the bad bits of Anthem so far, as I see it.

    Posted on 02/19/2019 by William Murphy
  • Anthem Review-in-Progress - A Solid First Impression

    In all the years I’ve been doing this, I don’t think I’ve ever gone into a review anxious. I’ve been looking forward to Anthem since its announcement at EA Play in 2017, but that demo EA put out a couple of weeks ago rattled me. I’ve only spent a couple of hours with the launch version of the game, but I’m glad to be able to report that, at least so far, things are looking a whole lot better.

    Posted on 02/15/2019 by Michael Bitton
  • Builds to Get You Started in Anthem

    Anthem drops in about a week for Origin Access Premier players and in roughly two weeks for everyone else. While we expect there will be a ton of changes between the demo and the full game, these are some ability build ideas to roll with when you jump into the full version of Anthem.

    Posted on 02/07/2019 by Michael Bitton
  • From Cautiously Optimistic to Cautious

    You know that feeling of excitement you get when you start a new Fallout game and exit the Vault for the first time? The light blinds you momentarily and then your eyes adjust and you see the wide world in front of you, ripe for exploration. I got that feeling when I loaded into Anthem’s beautiful world for the first time, too. And then I moved.

    Posted on 01/28/2019 by Michael Bitton
  • Anthem's Legendary Contracts Livestream Recap

    Yesterday’s Anthem livestream was a bit of an interesting one as it gave us a peek at something players will be able to do at endgame: Legendary Contracts. My original understanding was that the stream would focus on Anthem’s weapons, but the change in plans wasn’t a bad one.

    Posted on 01/18/2019 by Michael Bitton
  • Why I'm Excited, But Still a Bit Apprehensive About Anthem

    I’ve been interested in Anthem ever since the game’s announcement at E3 2017. But even with my excitement growing each day as we get closer to the game’s launch, I’m still left with a few questions that leave me a bit apprehensive.

    Posted on 01/10/2019 by Michael Bitton
  • BioWare’s Swansong

    We all know what a fickle company EA is when it comes to any non-sports game. Despite this, they have launched a lot of ideas especially through the BioWare brand. Known for top RPGs over decades, the question really is how much of the BioWare-of-old remains?

    Posted on 07/06/2018 by Garrett Fuller
  • How EA May Be Getting It Right With Anthem

    It’s all talk at this point, but I like what I’m hearing. Last year, EA got my attention with Anthem, the BioWare developed response to games like Destiny and The Division, but it was what I heard (and saw) at E3 2018 that got me truly excited for the game’s launch early next year.

    Posted on 06/21/2018 by Michael Bitton
  • What We Would Like to See from Anthem

    EA’s looking to throw its hat into the ring this year with its own loot shooter called Anthem. The title is being developed by BioWare and looks to be an all hands on deck effort by the studio with EA vice president Patrick Söderlund describing the project as “the start of maybe a 10-year journey.” Can EA and BioWare pull it off with Anthem? I’ve got a couple of ideas for how I think the game can position itself to succeed.

    Posted on 01/04/2018 by Michael Bitton
  • The Battle Between Anthem and Destiny 2

    E3 has come and gone and in the wake of the incredible hype machine that is back to back publisher conferences, the biggest game reveals are clear: EA Bioware’s Anthem and Activision Blizzard’s, Destiny 2. Everything we know so far says that these two games are taking aim at the exact same group of gamers. It’s poised to be a battle between two massive publishers and renowned development studios for the time and money of you the gamer. Let’s talk about how that might shake out.

    Posted on 06/23/2017 by Christopher Coke
  • The Best Online Games of E3 2017

    I’m not often impressed with E3, but this year’s show was pretty damn good. There were welcome surprises through the course of the event, from the return of beloved IPs to entirely new reveals. More interestingly, though, there was a pretty sizeable presence for online games. Not quite MMOs, but as close as we can get these days.

    Posted on 06/14/2017 by Michael Bitton

Guides

  • Anthem Ranger Guide to Blowing S**t Up

    I want to let you all in on a little secret: the Ranger is an AOE powerhouse. Don’t let anyone tell you that the Ranger’s only good at single target damage. His combo effect and many of his abilities definitely lean that way, but who cares? The Ranger is one of the best javelins in Anthem when it comes to just blowing s**t up and I’ll tell you how.

    Posted on 02/28/2019 by Michael Bitton

User Features

Login or Register to submit a feature!

Votes Req