Trending Games | EverQuest Next | Guild Wars 2 | Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn | World of Warcraft

  Network:  FPSguru RTSguru
Login:  Password:   Remember?  
Show Quick Gamelist Jump to Random Game
Members:2,920,706 Users Online:0
Games:760  Posts:6,312,332
Wargaming.net | Play Now
MMOTPS | Genre:Historical | Status:Final  (rel 04/12/11)  | Pub:Wargaming.net
PVP:Yes | Distribution:Download | Retail Price:n/a | Pay Type:Free | Monthly Fee:n/a
System Req: PC | Out of date info? Let us know!

World of Tanks Forum » General Discussion » Trojan when downloading this game?

6 posts found
  Hellfyre420

Apprentice Member

Joined: 4/26/10
Posts: 867

Hai2u o/

 
OP  10/13/10 10:48:44 AM#1

So yeah i jus got my beta from mmorpg.com and i tried to download the game from game.worldoftanks.com and as soon as i got done downloading it and tried to boot it up Ad-aware warned me of it being a trojan.. That scare is enough for me to not give it a shot.. I know some games warrant fale-positives or w/e on virus-scanners but it's defiantly not worth it for me.. Especially after all these f2p games are adding backdoor programs and stuff..

 

Anyone else have this issue or know why this happened?? Prolly better off after reading all the bad news of OP tanks in this game and stuff.. But still wanted to give it a shot.. Hopefully that trojan didn't install anything too bad on my comp >.>


Currently Playing:
Rift + Starcraft II + Gears Of War 3 Beta

  PapaB34R

Novice Member

Joined: 11/15/04
Posts: 306

Never lose your way, or someone else might find it

10/13/10 12:01:41 PM#2

ad-aware is almost vaperware so I wouldnt bother bout it... but try download it some place else if you too nervous and besides it doesnt make any sense for the devs to poison their own product...

  cludinsk

Novice Member

Joined: 10/29/07
Posts: 60

10/13/10 1:26:22 PM#3

it's downloaded as a torrent, that might be setting it off.

  karnisov

Novice Member

Joined: 8/11/10
Posts: 31

10/13/10 2:27:33 PM#4

i scanned with malwarebytes, didn't pick up anything.

http://hardballgaming.blogspot.com/

  Hellfyre420

Apprentice Member

Joined: 4/26/10
Posts: 867

Hai2u o/

 
OP  10/13/10 10:39:46 PM#5

Yea it was only adaware that popped up when i have malwarebytes plus another one i pay actual $$ for.. I've had my computer for 2 years and havn't gotten anything but a few spyware that were deleted right away.. I've gotten plenty of popups warning me of incomeing attempts being blocked and stuff.. But usually it's from the anti-virus i pay for and not adaware..

 

I don't know maybe it's a problem with adaware.. But i'am not takeing any chances.. And i really don't trust or know any other places to download this game so guess ill jus wait...


Currently Playing:
Rift + Starcraft II + Gears Of War 3 Beta

  karnisov

Novice Member

Joined: 8/11/10
Posts: 31

10/14/10 2:05:00 PM#6

adaware is pretty meh. if 2 other antimalware apps aren't picking anything up you're probably being a tad paranoid. if lots of other people would be talking about it then it might be worth taking seriously. i think this is only the second post i have seen on the topic in several month and the first post didn't even have an infection flagged by a antimalware program, the dude got his wow account brute force hacked and decided to blame WoT because he installed it recently. never mind that wow accounts get hacked all the time even by people that don't install WoT.

http://hardballgaming.blogspot.com/