Trending Games | The Crew | Elder Scrolls Online | Lichdom: Battlemage | ArcheAge

  Network:  FPSguru RTSguru
Login:  Password:   Remember?  
Show Quick Gamelist Jump to Random Game
Members:2,844,096 Users Online:0
Games:732  Posts:6,221,670
Turbine, Inc. | Play Now
MMORPG | Genre:Fantasy | Status:Final  (rel 04/24/07)  | Pub:Midway Games
PVP:Yes | Distribution:Download,Retail | Retail Price:n/a | Pay Type:Hybrid | Monthly Fee:$14.99
System Req: PC Mac | ESRB:TOut of date info? Let us know!

Lord of the Rings Online Forum » General Discussion » I decided to try out LOTRO the other day but why must I download 16.9GB of data when the game is highly restricted to free players?

4 Pages « 1 2 3 4 » Search
65 posts found
  MMOGamer71

Hard Core Member

Joined: 11/12/07
Posts: 1518

1/03/13 1:20:15 PM#21
Originally posted by DancingQueen
Originally posted by winter
Originally posted by DancingQueen
Originally posted by MMOGamer71
Because you can play the whole game minus expansions free.

Why do I have to download the expansions when they are not available to me as a free player?

This is my whole point of this thread... I don't want to be forced to download tons of content that is locked out from me.

Let me get this straight, your complaining because your getting too much game for free?

You'd rather Turbine didn't allow you to play through and hunt in all zone (even expansions) for free?

The entitlement mentality of the F2P player never stops amazing me.  However I do know these are hard times, and my heart goes out to you.Seriously never hope I become so hard up i can't even afford to pay my ISP for F2P games.

I complain that it's too much to download just to try out the game.

Many ISPs have put in restrictions on how much data that you can download each month and Turbine and other MMORPG companies needs to understand this and act accordingly.

They could have done it like SOE does it with EQ2 that has the option of a minimal client that downloads more data when you need it.

Your ISP is trash.

  sfc1971

Novice Member

Joined: 10/05/08
Posts: 423

1/03/13 1:28:20 PM#22
Originally posted by tawess
Originally posted by kevjards
i,m lost..you should be d/loading the full game at once..it might take a few restarts but it should all install at once really

the OP is angry that  s/he have to download the full game to do the free trial stuff...

 

But if i am not completley wrong i think  you can do pretty much all of the original game as a free player so you would have  amassive download any way.

 

As for the reason, weill it is simple. The idea is that you will like the game and become a member and they do not want you to have to sit and wait for a few hours once you do the lead.

 

It is pretty simple.

The OP is just silly, you can ride/walk once you leave the starter human/hobbit area all the way to rivendel and ALMOST to the entrance of the mines of moria (elves and dwarves for some reason are behind a portal/wall, not part of the large "human" seamless world). Nothing will stop you if you stick to the roads and don't stop to admire the wildlife.

Also, even if you remain the starter area, you can encounter any player in the game with any armour equipped, so all those textures and models got to be available (it is one of the reasons Consoles have difficulty with MMO's, you can't streamline model/texture loading (notice how in GTA games, once you steal car model X, that model is seen a LOT more on the roads, the console can't handle ALL the avaiable car models being on the road at once).

A few MMO's in the past have done the dynamic loading, so you can start playing before it finished downloading but it is a pain in the ass to develop and Lotro was designed as a boxed game so you would install from CD.

  Mardukk

Spotlight Poster

Joined: 2/05/11
Posts: 1385

1/03/13 1:29:23 PM#23
Originally posted by DancingQueen
Originally posted by winter
Originally posted by DancingQueen
Originally posted by MMOGamer71
Because you can play the whole game minus expansions free.

Why do I have to download the expansions when they are not available to me as a free player?

This is my whole point of this thread... I don't want to be forced to download tons of content that is locked out from me.

Let me get this straight, your complaining because your getting too much game for free?

You'd rather Turbine didn't allow you to play through and hunt in all zone (even expansions) for free?

The entitlement mentality of the F2P player never stops amazing me.  However I do know these are hard times, and my heart goes out to you.Seriously never hope I become so hard up i can't even afford to pay my ISP for F2P games.

I complain that it's too much to download just to try out the game.

Many ISPs have put in restrictions on how much data that you can download each month and Turbine and other MMORPG companies needs to understand this and act accordingly.

They could have done it like SOE does it with EQ2 that has the option of a minimal client that downloads more data when you need it.

I'm confused.  I thought they only limit download amounts in third world countries?

  trancejeremy

Apprentice Member

Joined: 1/30/08
Posts: 1218

1/04/13 2:38:43 AM#24
Unfortunately, in terms of public utilities and things like internet, the US is basically a 3rd world country in many, many places. But anyway, the problem is that there is only one game. The expansions are not separate areas, they are still part of the game, your account just doesn't have access to the quests and such. You want to go through Moria to Mirkwood without the expansions? You can, you just can't do any quests there.

R.I.P. City of Heroes and my 17 characters there

  Po_gg

Elite Member

Joined: 5/12/10
Posts: 1997

1/04/13 3:11:18 AM#25
Originally posted by sfc1971

A few MMO's in the past have done the dynamic loading, so you can start playing before it finished downloading but it is a pain in the ass to develop and Lotro was designed as a boxed game so you would install from CD.

True, but it wouldn't help OP either, since those games are build the same way. (I think Cryptic's CO and STO working like that for example). I mean, even in those games OP would have to download the whole game, only right after the first 3Gb she could enter the game and start to play, while the game continues the download in the background. So considering the transferred Gb's it's the same. (Except if she finds the game weak, and uninstalls it right after the starter area :) )

  FrodoFragins

Hard Core Member

Joined: 4/29/10
Posts: 2766

1/04/13 6:11:32 AM#26
Originally posted by MMOGamer71
Originally posted by DancingQueen
Originally posted by winter
Originally posted by DancingQueen
Originally posted by MMOGamer71
Because you can play the whole game minus expansions free.

Why do I have to download the expansions when they are not available to me as a free player?

This is my whole point of this thread... I don't want to be forced to download tons of content that is locked out from me.

Let me get this straight, your complaining because your getting too much game for free?

You'd rather Turbine didn't allow you to play through and hunt in all zone (even expansions) for free?

The entitlement mentality of the F2P player never stops amazing me.  However I do know these are hard times, and my heart goes out to you.Seriously never hope I become so hard up i can't even afford to pay my ISP for F2P games.

I complain that it's too much to download just to try out the game.

Many ISPs have put in restrictions on how much data that you can download each month and Turbine and other MMORPG companies needs to understand this and act accordingly.

They could have done it like SOE does it with EQ2 that has the option of a minimal client that downloads more data when you need it.

Your ISP is trash.

Many people don't have much choice.  Comcast is the only cable provider where I livebut I've never had a problem with their 250 gig cap except when I was watching tons of shows on netflix.

  dreamscaper

Hard Core Member

Joined: 8/14/08
Posts: 1245

1/04/13 6:24:16 AM#27

The current ISP may the only choice the OP has, unfortunately.

 

It's not an unreasonable request. EQ2 and WoW are much the same, and they both allow you to play once the initial portion of the game has been downloaded, and then continue to dynamically load stuff in the background as you play. It's certainly not a bad idea for LotRO to consider something similar.

<3

  bugse82

Novice Member

Joined: 5/17/09
Posts: 189

1/04/13 6:27:52 AM#28

1. get a real net.

2. dumbest whining reason i've ever seen.

3. devs can't read minds to tell which content you have and wich not.

  User Deleted
1/04/13 6:38:41 AM#29
Originally posted by DancingQueen

I have a wireless internet connection with a monthly limit of 20GB though I can buy extra in 1GB and 10GB increments but why am I forced to download all of the content when I don't have access to it?

Not a smart move by Turbine and needless to say I quickly cancelled my download of the game.

I hope that Turbine wise up in the near future and only prompts to download the content that the free player has access to and not all the friggin 16.9GB.

This really just seems like a not-so clever way to complain about LOTRO free-player restrictions.  If you feel the game is too restrictive to free players, why not just say it?  Arguing that the game (that did not launch F2P) should build in tools that only download free content isn't a terrible idea but how do we know for SURE that you have the full assets at 16.9 GB?  Compared to many modern MMO's games, 16.9 GB isn't outrageous at all.  Even WoW requires 25GB (according to the system requirements page).

  tv2zulu

Apprentice Member

Joined: 12/21/05
Posts: 75

1/04/13 6:58:42 AM#30

I'm sorry, but if you have a 20GB(!) cap on your monthly download, then you shouldn't be downloading games.

As others have said, you can play the entire main story as a free player. Your restrictions are more mechanic-based.

 

  Skavenaps

Apprentice Member

Joined: 1/21/11
Posts: 22

1/04/13 7:45:28 AM#31

ok stop that nonsense.

 

First, LOTRO offer a lite game client (600 mb) its on the download page of the game.. not that its hidden.

Second, OP came, uninformed and rude. Next time be more polite and dont call peeps trash, and maybe, and just maybe, you get a sooner answer.

  Ortwig

Apprentice Member

Joined: 4/20/12
Posts: 1047

1/04/13 7:48:55 AM#32
This thread proves that gamers must always have something to complain about.
  Vesavius

Old School

Joined: 3/08/04
Posts: 7145

Players come for the game, but they stay for the people- Most Devs have forgotten this.

1/04/13 8:04:06 AM#33
Originally posted by DancingQueen

I have a wireless internet connection with a monthly limit of 20GB...

 

o.0

  Gymrat313

Novice Member

Joined: 3/30/09
Posts: 64

1/04/13 8:09:51 AM#34

News flash, most games make you download the whole client + patch before playing. 

BTW your forum avatar is really annoying.

  therain93

Novice Member

Joined: 11/01/06
Posts: 2047

"Racing to endgame is like racing to the end of your vacation."

1/04/13 8:11:29 AM#35
Originally posted by DancingQueen

I have a wireless internet connection with a monthly limit of 20GB though I can buy extra in 1GB and 10GB increments but why am I forced to download all of the content when I don't have access to it?

Not a smart move by Turbine and needless to say I quickly cancelled my download of the game.

I hope that Turbine wise up in the near future and only prompts to download the content that the free player has access to and not all the friggin 16.9GB.

 

Why are people all over the OP? It's a valid question, which someone, it appears, finally answered in a helpful way when they mentioned the lite client....34 posts in.

 

For those trashing on the ISP, perhaps you should re-read it? A wireless internet connection is most likely Satellite internet or 4G, which would explain the very low cap.  So....get off your high horses, because you're the ones coming across as ignorant.

  Mothanos

Hard Core Member

Joined: 10/20/10
Posts: 1829

1/04/13 8:13:25 AM#36

Takes 10/15 min to download or something ? whats the problem :P ?

http://speedtest.net/result/2112016336.png

  Oberholzer

Advanced Member

Joined: 2/25/06
Posts: 495

1/04/13 8:16:21 AM#37
The real story here is that is some sad Internet service.
  tawess

Elite Member

Joined: 3/24/05
Posts: 1975

1/04/13 8:17:27 AM#38

Well it was not like the OP was all that humble either, so DQ pretty much set the tone of the thread.

 

That being said i fully understand the OP's frustration (having grown up during the Dial-Up modem era) and i think the adaptation to 3/4G or non flat-rate will get better.

 

That being said there are ways around this. Like using friends computers or finding a open network that does not have a limiter set.

Tomas Soapbox

This have been a good conversation

  DancingQueen

Novice Member

Joined: 10/18/12
Posts: 222

 
OP  1/04/13 1:30:07 PM#39
Originally posted by Skavenaps

ok stop that nonsense.

 

First, LOTRO offer a lite game client (600 mb) its on the download page of the game.. not that its hidden.

Second, OP came, uninformed and rude. Next time be more polite and dont call peeps trash, and maybe, and just maybe, you get a sooner answer.

More like OP came, we were all rude to OP and then OP were rude back (what a surprise) and I can't find any 600MB client so Turbine must have hidden it well but I don't care about this game anymore, I will play TERA and have fun tonight.

 

  MMOGamer71

Hard Core Member

Joined: 11/12/07
Posts: 1518

1/04/13 11:23:37 PM#40
Originally posted by DancingQueen
Originally posted by Skavenaps

ok stop that nonsense.

 

First, LOTRO offer a lite game client (600 mb) its on the download page of the game.. not that its hidden.

Second, OP came, uninformed and rude. Next time be more polite and dont call peeps trash, and maybe, and just maybe, you get a sooner answer.

More like OP came, we were all rude to OP and then OP were rude back (what a surprise) and I can't find any 600MB client so Turbine must have hidden it well but I don't care about this game anymore, I will play TERA and have fun tonight.

 

No you took posts crtical of your ISP as an attack against you.  Go back an re-read this thread and you will see where the personnal attack is.  Bottom line you received an answer which might not be what you wanted to hear, but its the answer.  It's up to you to figure out how to get it downloaded.  

4 Pages « 1 2 3 4 » Search