Trending Games | Elder Scrolls Online | ArcheAge | War Thunder | World of Warcraft

  Network:  FPSguru RTSguru
Login:  Password:   Remember?  
Show Quick Gamelist Jump to Random Game
Members:2,905,603 Users Online:0
Games:757  Posts:6,295,584
Square Enix | Play Now
MMORPG | Genre:Fantasy | Status:Final  (rel 08/27/13)  | Pub:Square Enix
PVP:Yes | Distribution:Retail | Retail Price:$29.99 | Pay Type:Subscription
System Req: PC PS3 Playstation 4 | Out of date info? Let us know!

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn Videos: A Realm Awoken Patch 2.1 Preview (10:17)

Square Enix has released an amazingly long 10-minute video to show off the new features and game improvements coming to Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn with this month's v2.1 patch. If you weren't looking forward to the new patch, this is sure to whet your appetite. The patch will be released on December 17th. Read more at http://www.mmorpg.com/newsroom.cfm#Pu0SIKCxRs9mViUH.99

Square Enix has released an amazingly long 10-minute video to show off the new features and game improvements coming to Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn with this month's v2.1 patch. If you weren't looking forward to the new patch, this is sure to whet your appetite. The patch will be released on December 17th. Read more at http://www.mmorpg.com/newsroom.cfm#Pu0SIKCxRs9mViUH.99
Duration: 10:17
Views: 4,674  13 comments
Game: Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn
Direct Link: http://youtu.be/7Wn6zonL9vY
View More Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn Videos...
Tsumoro writes: That was a lot more content than I was expecting! Glad to be a subscriber! Fri Dec 06 2013 7:11AM Report
lecram64 writes: Wow, some great added content, even though it is mostly beyond my reach still. Can't wait to be able to play the advanced and extreme dungeons. Fri Dec 06 2013 7:31AM Report
GwapoJosh writes: Might as well call this patch an expansion!  Looks great! Fri Dec 06 2013 9:29AM Report
BearKnight writes:

Game launched Augusta 27th, 2013, with no major content patches since then.

 

It is now December 6th, and this is releasing on the 17th.

 

They essentially took 3 months for this and gave NO content patches in between. So this is essentially an Expansion, and not an actual content patch. They saved up 3months worth of content patches for one huge push.

 

Yet, you're "surprised" at the amount of content? Really :(?

Fri Dec 06 2013 12:31PM Report
jonesing22 writes:

Looks good, can't wait

 

Fri Dec 06 2013 3:04PM Report
naZchoco writes:

So - They redid the end-game bosses in the game. As if i haven't done those fights more than I wanted to already.  Now i get to do them some more!

They added housing that looks on par with EQ2 ( a game that has been out for 8? years now)

They added one dungeon that most people will give a flip about - crystal tower. Yet the gear is below the gear i have now from coil/relics/crafting?

 

And they spend their time on treasure hunting? And aesthetics? And sending players back to the old dungeons that we've already done enough of?

 

how do you get a chance to remake your game. do a great job with getting feedback from the community. and actually create a great foundation  - but then botch it with no real content updates that will hold players to the game. i just don't understand.

 

 

and for those of you who are going to flame me. go look at my previous post - i am a pretty avid fan of the FF MMOs.

I also am not a hardcore gamer - so i'm not tearing through content. I played pretty reasonably and cleared up most of the game in a month 1/2. 

 

oh well i'll quit whining -  haven't posted in a while.

Fri Dec 06 2013 3:24PM Report
Pratt2112 writes:

Neat eye candy. 

Seeing Hildibrand back is the only thing that got me at all excited lol. Awesome character.

Fri Dec 06 2013 8:41PM Report
sudo writes: Wow, looking fine. I might become tempted to come back :) Sat Dec 07 2013 3:56AM Report
Tsumoro writes:

People getting bent out of shape do amuse me because they think because they do not like it then it must be bad content. I am looking forward to Crystal Tower, I  haven't been able to do BC yet. Those spots have gone to my companies core group and I am on the bench so the Crystal Content allows me to do raiding content and up my gear a bit more. Just remember that because YOU are in an end game company and are raiding, not everyone is as lucky. I am pretty sure that Square sees the statistics of how many of their level 50 population is seeing the content and based the crystal tower around that decision. 

As for the 3 month gap, well... I don't think 3 months for new content after a game has come out is that bad if I am honest. I really don't. What game are you playing that has regular updates that are this note worthy?

WoW  goes 4 to 5 months between major patches and I consider that an MMO vet. So I don't understand the ball busting on how long this took to make content. If every 3 months brings as much content as this does I will be one very HAPPY player. 

 

Sat Dec 07 2013 6:23AM Report
Wizardry writes:

Square won't win me back because they have done some things badly over last few years.

One they still miss out on water zones.

They prove here why red carpet stuff is no good because it requires a controlled area.I don't like fights where you are stuck in a circle that looks like wizard 101,makes it look more fake than a realistic open world.

Also going gear based is a big no for me,i prefer just player skill over having to get the next tier of gear to move onto tougher fights.

I know why they are doing a lot the way they do,they are afraid the game won't play well on most machines if opened up more.

IMO Square has and is trying too hard to get away from their routes and go the Wow style with instances and a gear based game.Tossing in some old school FF zones is not going to help the game.

Even though i sound critical,the game is pretty darn good,if i was to play anything right now,it would be FFXIV.

Sat Dec 07 2013 5:33PM Report
Pratt2112 writes:

@Tsumoro 

"As for the 3 month gap, well... I don't think 3 months for new content after a game has come out is that bad if I am honest. I really don't. What game are you playing that has regular updates that are this note worthy?"

Slow down there...

You're making a rather big assumption there.

FFXIV hasn't even proven to have "regular updates that are this noteworthy". It's the game's first update of this type.

You're "challenging" other MMOs to meet a benchmark that FFXIV hasn't even met.

Kinda ridiculous, dontcha think?

Considering a significant portion of the content in this update is content that's been known about since months before ARR's re-release, and was actually in development and intended for release but was held back because it wasn't ready... I wouldn't be so quick to consider it something SE will be matching on a "regular basis". 

Sat Dec 07 2013 5:37PM Report
Raserei writes: Game devlopers have lost their touch with MMO's for the past decade. Mon Dec 09 2013 3:34AM Report
Artiss2k writes: Yeah i'm just going to play casual as I wait for Star Citizen Mon Dec 09 2013 9:01PM Report
Our Rating
8.4
User Rating: 8.5
Latest News:
Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn
DDoS Attack Underway
Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn
New Trailer Takes a Look at the Past Year in Eorzea
Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn
Game of the Year Edition "Available" Now
Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn
The Long Wait, An Era’s End
Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn
Onward to the Heavens!