Trending Games | World of Warcraft | Guild Wars 2 | Elder Scrolls Online | EverQuest

Network:  FPSguru RTSguru
Login:  Password:   Remember?  
Show Quick Gamelist Jump to Random Game
Members:2,905,748 Users Online:0
Games:757  Posts:6,296,253
Rift (Rift)
Trion Worlds | Official Site
MMORPG | Genre:Fantasy | Status:Final  (rel 03/01/11)  | Pub:Trion Worlds
PVP:Yes | Distribution:Download | Retail Price:Free | Pay Type:Free | Monthly Fee:Free
System Req: PC | Out of date info? Let us know!

General Discussion Forum » The Pub at MMORPG.COM » Some psychology questions involving Gaming Forums.

4 posts found
  paulytheb

Advanced Member

OP  2/10/13 3:35:29 PM#1

I am curious about something.

I am interested in responses from anyone, but most interested in responses from people with a background or at least some schooling in psychology, please make a note if this pertains to your post. My background is in engineering so I do not know much about it. Thank you in advance.

I am going to remove gaming from my hypothetical question/situation so I can ask my questions without the context altering the feedback or derailing the subject, though the topic does definitely involve MMO gaming.Gaming forums in particular. (Not just this forum.)

What does it say about the people involved, in psychological terms, when the following scenario is carried out ?

Person A goes to an automobile forum with their opinion on the new Chevy truck. Lets say for the argument that person A made a post that is titled ; " New Chevy Truck " Then went on to post," I like the new Chevy truck but I wish I could get it in factory lime green."

Person B then comes along and posts," Chevy trucks are terrible.Also lime green is a terrible color. Are you sure you thought this through? Most people prefer a red Ford.You should get a red Ford."

Person C then posts,"Lime green wouldn't be popular enough for Chevy to bother with that, you could get a Nissan they make a lime green."