Age of Conan
Show Game Details
- Developer: Funcom
- Genre: Fantasy
- Status: Final
- Platforms:
- Website: http://www.ageofconan.com
- Retail Price: n/a
- Monthly Fee: n/a
-
Age of Conan RSS Feed
General Discussion » Site Suggestions » MALWARE DETECTED ON THIS SITE
| Thread (12 posts) | ||
|---|---|---|
|
miagisan 8/31/08 11:51:52 PM
|
||
|
Hard Core Member
Joined: 7/28/06 |
As per Avast!
Address: http://ads.gameads.com/ads/be131fa6-fe83-43d4-a564-8425d7a4fe33.swf?clickTAG=http%3A%2F%2Fserver%2Egameads%2Ecom%2Fclick%2Ecfm%3Fil%3D1003%2C1069%2C1050%26ilh%3D055C2481669B976CA32CE217CC14EE66%26r%3D87504&clickTag=http%3A%2F%2Fserver%2Egameads%2Ecom%2Fcli Malware: SWF:CVE-2007-0071 [Expl] Malware Type: Exploit Date: 080831-0, 08/31/2008 |
|
|
grunty 8/31/08 11:53:44 PM
|
||
|
Hard Core Member
Joined: 4/06/04
I''ll snatch you bald-headed! |
mailto:support@mmorpg.com |
|
| |
||
|
Zyllos 8/31/08 11:56:11 PM
|
||
|
Advanced Member
Joined: 9/11/05
"You do not get old and stop playing, you stop playing then get old." -- Unknown |
Well, considering that URL comes from clicking any of these ad's on the website...and I consider all, and I quote, "ALL" ad's on any website a potential virus/trojan/malware/ect. This could easily be true without knowledge of the website administrator. So, maybe it is, but that does not effect me as I never click on ads, no matter the location. So, for everyone safety, take these precautions; as a student in Computer Science, I suggest never click on an ad. If you find something interesting, watch the ad for identifying names or subjects and search for it in a safe manner. This is my opinion on the subject matter and I can not fully support that my claims are true. Edit: grammer/additional info/sentence flow |
|
| |
||
|
miagisan 9/01/08 12:08:30 AM
|
||
|
Hard Core Member
Joined: 7/28/06 |
Originally posted by grunty
thx will do |
|
|
Noggin 9/01/08 12:16:10 AM
|
||
|
Apprentice Member
Joined: 8/21/08 |
With Firefox I haven't seen an advert on the internet for years. |
|
|
mrdoublerr 9/01/08 12:21:31 AM
|
||
|
Hard Core Member
Joined: 4/14/04 |
use firefox and adblock plus |
|
| |
||
|
argos5 9/01/08 12:22:55 AM
|
||
|
Advanced Member
Joined: 7/04/08 |
So you detected malware? Why the heck are you using Internet Explorer?! Firefox automaticly blocks all that off. |
|
| |
||
|
miagisan 9/01/08 12:28:14 AM
|
||
|
Hard Core Member
Joined: 7/28/06 |
i was using firefox when i got hit....AVG aborted the connection immediately |
|
|
argos5 9/01/08 12:46:15 AM
|
||
|
Advanced Member
Joined: 7/04/08 |
Hmm. That is very odd. If this is the case, then its not this site. Something is worming itself through your system, because I haven't been hit with anything after being on this site for months. |
|
| |
||
|
khartman2005 9/01/08 12:50:56 AM
|
||
|
Hard Core Member
Joined: 5/13/06
CU/NGE |
Originally posted by argos5
OP I have never been hit by malware on this site either and I have always used firefox. Currently using firefox 3 with adblock plus. I am gonna have to agree with the person I quoted. It seems you already had an infection. |
|
|
|
||
|
Midnitte 9/01/08 1:05:35 AM
|
||
|
Elite Member
Joined: 6/11/06
To not conform is to conform; Always question orders and demand a reason, least you become a Nazi. |
He probably has a rootkit. This site is free of malicious software. |
|
|
Meddle 9/01/08 1:09:32 AM
|
||
|
Administrator
Joined: 5/10/03 |
If you can provide a screen shot of the ads on the page when this occurs please send it to ben@mmorpg.com and I will take care of it immediately.
UPDATE: I retrieved the .swf from gameads directly and scanned it locally using Avast and it came up clean. Unfortuntely this probably means you've got problems locally on your machine. |
|
| - MMORPG.COM Staff - |
||



