<
>

Page 2 of 3

1

2

3

 Thread (75 posts)
Zorvan  2/27/08 1:16:04 PM

Rank: 30/100 Rank: 30/100 Rank: 30/100 Rank: 30/100 Rank: 30/100

Apprentice Member

Joined: 10/02/06
Posts: 6804

Originally posted by CleffyII

XP Anti-virus looks like a phishing ad.  Its comes up with a popup that says your computer is infected, but its merely a jpg image.  My anti-virus caught it trying to install something on my computer.  I am using IE 7 and it forwarded me to thier page, shrunk all my windows to the bottom left corner of my screen, and had its pop-up come up.  Clicking anywhere on thier popup automatically forwards you to thier site that auto-attempts to install something onto your computer.

yep, same here. Except I'm using Flock, so it didn't get to their site. But it did pop up the XP Anti-Virus balloon. Soon as it did that, I went to task manager and shut down the browser manually ( to avoid clicking anything ) then ran virus and spyware checks. Came up on the virus scan, so just deleted it.

In memory of Sir Ladyflower Ironforge- Laura "Taera" Genender 1986-2008 R.I.P.

Linuxxx  2/27/08 1:19:12 PM

Rank: 21/100 Rank: 21/100 Rank: 21/100 Rank: 21/100 Rank: 21/100

Apprentice Member

Joined: 8/25/05
Posts: 103

 

Originally posted by Admin

We will try to find out what is causing this.  I am not getting this but if people could post the following:

1) Your browser

2) Any ads that are on the page when you see this

3) The software giving you the warning (your spyware/virus scanner, etc)

4) The exact warning message

This could never happen on our internal ads since we place the SWF or GIF/JPG directly on the page ourselves - but we do use 2 seperate outside netowrks.  While I would hope they would not do such a thing - if it is coming from an ad (which it may not be) it would be from one of these and we would need to shut it off and report it.

 


1. Firefox  2.0.0.12

 

2. Didn't read the ads that were showing, was reading aoc forum.  AoC>>General Discussion>>Which Class Will You Be

3. Eset smart security

4. Object name: h**p://xpantivirus.com/2008/download6/XPantivirus2008_v77011810.exe  <Don't click that

      Reason: Probably a variant of Win32/Static application

 
Qaze  2/27/08 1:20:01 PM

Rank: 1/100 Rank: 1/100 Rank: 1/100 Rank: 1/100 Rank: 1/100

Novice Member

Joined: 10/06/05
Posts: 245

Eat purple!

Avast found nothing, although I never got it in the first place. Ad theory seems very credible - maybe my pop-up blocker is protecting me.

Qaze - Atheist, Nihilist, Sadist.
WinRAR.rar
Mudkip Video

Xfire= Qaze3000 - Add me if you're not a total retard.

Belsameth  2/27/08 1:25:20 PM

Rank: 22/100 Rank: 22/100 Rank: 22/100 Rank: 22/100 Rank: 22/100

Apprentice Member

Joined: 3/06/04
Posts: 176

Indeed flacky add ware.

[url]http://www.malwarebytes.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=2632[/url]

 

probably installs a few trojans as well if you're lucky. Doesn't seem to auto execute code tho, so if you didn't click the link you're most likely safe (From this one, at least :p )

belsameth Xfire Miniprofile
Skippy13  2/27/08 1:25:31 PM

Rank: 1/100 Rank: 1/100 Rank: 1/100 Rank: 1/100 Rank: 1/100

Novice Member

Joined: 8/24/06
Posts: 38

Had same happend to me

 

using ie 7 i think.

seemed to be a pop up. came up when i vistited this forum page...ironic i know.

not sure on the ads...

doing a panda scan right now to see if it finds anything.

 

Skipp


Help my buddies grow click on them!

ethion  2/27/08 1:32:44 PM

Rank: 100/100 Rank: 100/100 Rank: 100/100 Rank: 100/100 Rank: 100/100

Elite Member

Joined: 7/25/03
Posts: 1484

Originally posted by Admin

We will try to find out what is causing this.  I am not getting this but if people could post the following:

1) Your browser

2) Any ads that are on the page when you see this

3) The software giving you the warning (your spyware/virus scanner, etc)

4) The exact warning message

This could never happen on our internal ads since we place the SWF or GIF/JPG directly on the page ourselves - but we do use 2 seperate outside netowrks.  While I would hope they would not do such a thing - if it is coming from an ad (which it may not be) it would be from one of these and we would need to shut it off and report it.

 

1. Firefox 3.0B3

2. Not sure my antivirus software blocked the entire page and put up the message I posted.

3. I'm using Trend Micro Internet Security

4. I posted the exact message above. 

 

Looking at my logs I'm also seeing that my software is blocking neosurge.biz/adjs.php?n=(number).  This is being reported in the software as hacking proxy avoidance.  I didn't get any pop up on this one it was just blocked.  I'm also not sure this was comming from mmorpg as I didn't notice when it was happening and there are other web sites I might have visitied that gave it to me.

 

ethion21 Xfire Miniprofile
Taera  2/27/08 1:48:11 PM

Rank: 100/100 Rank: 100/100 Rank: 100/100 Rank: 100/100 Rank: 100/100

Community Manager

Joined: 6/02/05
Posts: 1072

Has anyone gotten the popup two or more times?

Laura "Taera" Genender
Community Manager
MMORPG.com

Draccan  2/27/08 1:54:54 PM

Rank: 44/100 Rank: 44/100 Rank: 44/100 Rank: 44/100 Rank: 44/100

Advanced Member

Joined: 8/12/07
Posts: 548

SWG pre cu/nge wanted!

Originally posted by Taera

Has anyone gotten the popup two or more times?


I just had it and also did yesterday.

I am using VISTA and INTERNET EXPLORER and NORTON.

This time it went straigth through antivirus and firewall..

Not a very good advertisement for mmorpg.com honestly !!!!

____________________________
EVGA nForce 780i
Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 3.0
Zotac GeForce 9800GTX 512MB
Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C5 G (8 gb)
Zalman GT1000 Gaming Case
Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
ThermalTake BlueOrb FX Cooler
2 x WD Raptor X 150GB in raid 0 config
750GB SAMSUNG SPINPOINT F1 32MB 7200RPM
OCZ GameXStream 850 watt

forinboy  2/27/08 2:00:00 PM

Rank: 61/100 Rank: 61/100 Rank: 61/100 Rank: 61/100 Rank: 61/100

Hard Core Member

Joined: 12/27/04
Posts: 8

Yes I got it here too, AV software caught it.  Using latest firefox. 

 
Mixie  2/27/08 2:01:11 PM

Rank: 1/100 Rank: 1/100 Rank: 1/100 Rank: 1/100 Rank: 1/100

Novice Member

Joined: 8/17/07
Posts: 90

i just got it too, all my windows went down and a popup with the name http://xpantivirus.com/ come up.

Mee dont like