Login:  Password:   Remember?  
Show Quick Gamelist
Games:398  Guilds:2,011
Members:1,147,967  Online:0
Guests:0  Posts:3,127,996

Recent forum postsRSS
Active threads
Cloud view
List all forums

General Forums
Developers Corner General Discussion
Popular Game Forums
Click a status to find game forum
Game Forums
Click a letter to find game forum

MMORPG.com Discussion Forums

19 posts found
natuxatu

Spotlight Poster

Joined: 11/12/03
Posts: 902

I would love you if you let me.

 
9/11/09 5:52:13 PM#1

So I got an invite to join the closed beta of Cataclysm. Not sure why I was chosen but it was an offical email from blizzard with a key and everything. Still it said that it would send me the download soon, but I haven't gotten it yet. Does anyone know when it will actually start?

Playing: Aion
-----------------
Excited for: Guild Wars 2 & Final Fantasy XIV
-----------------
Have Played: World of Warcraft, Final Fantasy XI, Guild Wars, Lord of the Rings Online, Vanguard, City of Heroes/Villians, EverQuest 2, Tabula Rasa, Dungeons & Dragons Online, The Chronical of Spellborn, Warhammer Online, Age of Conan. Champions Online
-----------------
Favorite MMO: Final Fantasy XI

arenasb

Elite Member

Joined: 6/20/05
Posts: 609

9/11/09 5:57:55 PM#2

Be extra careful on clicking any links in that. I haven't seen any information on betas or anything. Usually Blizzard will announce it first. It could be a phishing email.

natuxatu

Spotlight Poster

Joined: 11/12/03
Posts: 902

I would love you if you let me.

 
9/11/09 6:02:02 PM#3

I don't think it can be.. The address that it was sent from is:  noreply@blizzard.com and it took me to a very offical looking page.. just thought I'd see if anyone else got the email though before i filled out the information..

Playing: Aion
-----------------
Excited for: Guild Wars 2 & Final Fantasy XIV
-----------------
Have Played: World of Warcraft, Final Fantasy XI, Guild Wars, Lord of the Rings Online, Vanguard, City of Heroes/Villians, EverQuest 2, Tabula Rasa, Dungeons & Dragons Online, The Chronical of Spellborn, Warhammer Online, Age of Conan. Champions Online
-----------------
Favorite MMO: Final Fantasy XI

zymurgeist

Elite Member

Joined: 12/24/04
Posts: 2093

9/11/09 6:02:52 PM#4

If it was from Blizzard the first thing it would have done is asked you to go to a confirmation website where you would have received details and an NDA. It's unlikely they would blind e-mail an actual key. Make sure your anti-virus is up to date and check the headers of the e-mail to see where it came from. 

"Any sufficiently advanced incompetence is indistinguishable from malice." ~Greys Law

arenasb

Elite Member

Joined: 6/20/05
Posts: 609

9/11/09 6:04:20 PM#5

well to be safe, go to this forum on the wow website

http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.html?topicId=965511383&sid=1&pageNo=4

it has a list of phishing emails and a lot of them are "Cataclysm Beta Invites".

drbaltazar

Apprentice Member

Joined: 3/28/07
Posts: 2144

9/11/09 6:05:56 PM#6

 dont respond ,go in  the game send a ticket wait for gm then ask to confirm about the futur beta and the link you received they ll check and if its bogus they ll close down the funy guy that send the bogus if its a bogus!

Spellshaper

Advanced Member

Joined: 9/27/04
Posts: 276

9/11/09 6:06:24 PM#7

Its obvious spam and scum. Blizzard didnt use x10hosting like that phising site u posted. So no beta yet ;)

_____________________________
Mundus vult decipi, ergo decipiatur.

arenasb

Elite Member

Joined: 6/20/05
Posts: 609

9/11/09 6:06:38 PM#8

I moused over your link, that's a bad link. That's a scamming email.

rev_lazaro

Novice Member

Joined: 2/01/07
Posts: 263

9/11/09 6:06:59 PM#9

I don't think Blizzard would host their sites on x10hosting.com domains, especially not in the web address that the "beta" link you posted links to.

 

It's a scam.

salvatorus

Novice Member

Joined: 4/12/08
Posts: 1

9/11/09 6:07:20 PM#10

All you had to do was mouse over that link and its clearly a fake.  Worldof  V warcraft. blah blah hosting. Wouldnt click on that link if  I was you, but looks like you already did. Just hope you didnt send um any personal info.

 

Its been a somewhat known fact now that people can spoof email accounts.

rev_lazaro

Novice Member

Joined: 2/01/07
Posts: 263

9/11/09 6:07:58 PM#11

heh we must have all replied at once going NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

epic :)

Swanea

Elite Member

Joined: 4/25/08
Posts: 582

9/11/09 6:09:56 PM#12

When you mouse over the world of warcraft link, it says worldofVwarcraft.com.10xhosting or something.

 

Anyways, blizzard emails are generally very obvious about them being from blizzard.   Usually includes graphics and such nonsense.  I am sure people will fall for things like this though.

zymurgeist

Elite Member

Joined: 12/24/04
Posts: 2093

9/11/09 6:10:18 PM#13

It's a Phish

"Please be prepared to enter the current retail World of Warcraft account name and password you use, and the appropriate information to authenticate your eligibility to connect to the Catalyst™ alpha test realms."

Blizzard will never ask you for your name and password. 

"Any sufficiently advanced incompetence is indistinguishable from malice." ~Greys Law

natuxatu

Spotlight Poster

Joined: 11/12/03
Posts: 902

I would love you if you let me.

 
9/11/09 6:12:31 PM#14

Okay.. well no big deal.. i didn't do anything...

The only reason I believed it was from blizzard was because of the email.. noreply@blizzard.com ... how does someone else get ahold of that particular email addy? Because I have recieved real emails from blizzard with the same email..

Playing: Aion
-----------------
Excited for: Guild Wars 2 & Final Fantasy XIV
-----------------
Have Played: World of Warcraft, Final Fantasy XI, Guild Wars, Lord of the Rings Online, Vanguard, City of Heroes/Villians, EverQuest 2, Tabula Rasa, Dungeons & Dragons Online, The Chronical of Spellborn, Warhammer Online, Age of Conan. Champions Online
-----------------
Favorite MMO: Final Fantasy XI

zymurgeist

Elite Member

Joined: 12/24/04
Posts: 2093

9/11/09 6:16:20 PM#15
Originally posted by natuxatu

Okay.. well no big deal.. i didn't do anything...

The only reason I believed it was from blizzard was because of the email.. noreply@blizzard.com ... how does someone else get ahold of that particular email addy? Because I have recieved real emails from blizzard with the same email..


 

You can spoof e-mails. I've even getting spam from my own Yahoo e-mail address recently.

"Any sufficiently advanced incompetence is indistinguishable from malice." ~Greys Law

natuxatu

Spotlight Poster

Joined: 11/12/03
Posts: 902

I would love you if you let me.

 
9/11/09 6:36:05 PM#16

I never knew that.. so that's good to know.

I know blizzard never asks for a password but since i thought it was on a temp version of their site (i did notice the x stuff in the website name) i still thought it was okay.

I'm ususally pretty aware of these sorts of things so.. while it might be obvious that it's fake.. I can still see a lot of people falling for it.

Playing: Aion
-----------------
Excited for: Guild Wars 2 & Final Fantasy XIV
-----------------
Have Played: World of Warcraft, Final Fantasy XI, Guild Wars, Lord of the Rings Online, Vanguard, City of Heroes/Villians, EverQuest 2, Tabula Rasa, Dungeons & Dragons Online, The Chronical of Spellborn, Warhammer Online, Age of Conan. Champions Online
-----------------
Favorite MMO: Final Fantasy XI

coffee

Guru

Joined: 8/28/05
Posts: 1794

9/11/09 9:08:37 PM#17

Wont be seeing a REAL invites until next spring/summer that if cata is planned for release in November next year.  We got Starcraft2 to look forward to before all that though.. fun fun fun

Daffid011

Elite Member

Joined: 1/03/04
Posts: 4522

9/11/09 10:27:28 PM#18

You need to edit post #3 and remove the link to that website.  Someone might just be naive enough to click on it and get their account hacked.

 

Rule #1: if you get an email that seems to good to be true, it is.

Rule #2: never click links in emails.  No matter how official they look.

googajoob7

Elite Member

Joined: 4/12/06
Posts: 855

9/11/09 10:46:44 PM#19

I ve had lots of similar things in the past . They even have gone to email addys that arnt linked to my WoW account . Its the same with banks that keep asking me to update my details even though i ve never had an account with them . Lots of fraud online .